The best Halloween yard signs, sized for the walk they have to line
Corrugated plastic signs are the quickest way to fill a front yard for October. Sign size, stake count and tone decide which set.
By Sawyer V. · Published

Yard signs are the quick way to finish a Halloween yard. They go in in minutes, come out in minutes, and lie flat in a storage tote until next year. The trick is buying a set sized for where it is going: a small sign that looks right beside the front step disappears 30 ft back on the lawn.
The listings sort into two families — friendly pumpkins and ghosts for a street full of small trick-or-treaters, and warning-sign sets for a scarier yard. Five sets below, one to skip.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageAmyhill Halloween yard signs, 12 pieces, 24 stakes, pumpkins and ghosts12 corrugated plastic signs, 24 stakes | The most signs, with two stakes each | 7.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageGABOSS Halloween beware signs, 6 pieces, 16.5 x 12.2 in6 warning signs, 16.5 x 12.2 in each | The biggest published sign face, for a scary yard | 6.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageHalloween yard stakes, 10 pieces, ghosts, pumpkins, mummy and black cat10 waterproof corrugated plastic signs, mixed characters | The widest cast of characters | 7.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imagePREXTEX scary Halloween yard signs, 6 pieces, 12 x 9 in, metal stakes6 warning signs, 12 x 9 in, metal stakes | Lining a front walk, on metal stakes | 7.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageAmscan cemetery sidewalk signs, 3 pack, 12 x 9 in3 corrugated plastic signs, 12 x 9 inSkip this | Skip | 4.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — The most signs, with two stakes each
Amyhill Halloween yard signs, 12 pieces, 24 stakes, pumpkins and ghosts
12 corrugated plastic signs, 24 stakes
7.5
/ 10
The pick. Twelve friendly signs and enough stakes to plant every one of them on two legs.
Published specifications
- Signs
- 12
- Stakes
- 24 (two per sign)
- Material
- Corrugated plastic, sold as weather and fade resistant
- Designs
- Ghosts and jack-o'-lanterns in witch hats
- Main color
- Orange
- Sign size
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Pieces
- 10 / 10
- Stakes
- 10 / 10
- Size published
- 2 / 10
- Weather resistance
- 8 / 10
Good
- 24 stakes for 12 signs — two per sign, the way a yard sign should go in
- Corrugated plastic, sold as weather and fade resistant
- Friendly faces rather than gore, which suits a street full of small trick-or-treaters
Watch out
- No sign size published, so planning a walk takes a test in the yard
- One mood only: cute, not scary
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FBVDWKGL), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — The biggest published sign face, for a scary yard
GABOSS Halloween beware signs, 6 pieces, 16.5 x 12.2 in
6 warning signs, 16.5 x 12.2 in each
6.5
/ 10
Best for a scary yard. The biggest sign we could measure from any listing here, in a set of six.
Published specifications
- Signs
- 6
- Size
- 16.5 x 12.2 in
- Face area
- 201 sq in per sign (our arithmetic)
- Theme
- Assorted warning signs, zombie theme
- Stakes
- Yard stakes included; count not stated
- Material
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Sign size
- 10 / 10
- Pieces
- 6 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 5 / 10
- Theme range
- 5 / 10
Good
- The largest sign size published in this group — 86% more face than a 12 x 9 in sign
- Warning-sign wording reads as a set when spaced along a walk
Watch out
- Material not stated in the listing text
- Stake count not published
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B096P4BTNJ), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — The widest cast of characters
Halloween yard stakes, 10 pieces, ghosts, pumpkins, mummy and black cat
10 waterproof corrugated plastic signs, mixed characters
7.3
/ 10
Best for variety. Ten characters on the cute side of spooky, on weatherproof board.
Published specifications
- Signs
- 10
- Material
- Waterproof corrugated plastic board
- Designs
- Ghosts, pumpkins, mummy, witch, black cat, skull, tombstone
- Stakes
- Included; count not stated
- Sign size
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Pieces
- 9 / 10
- Variety
- 10 / 10
- Size published
- 2 / 10
- Weather resistance
- 8 / 10
Good
- Ten different characters, so a lined walk does not repeat itself
- Sold as waterproof corrugated plastic
Watch out
- No size published — "large" is the listing's word, not a measurement
- Stake count not published
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0H7S69QYG), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — Lining a front walk, on metal stakes
PREXTEX scary Halloween yard signs, 6 pieces, 12 x 9 in, metal stakes
6 warning signs, 12 x 9 in, metal stakes
7.0
/ 10
Best for a front walk: six small warning signs on metal legs, read up close by the people walking past them.
Published specifications
- Signs
- 6
- Size
- 12 x 9 in
- Face area
- 108 sq in per sign (our arithmetic)
- Stakes
- Metal
- Wording
- Beware, No Trespassing, Zombies Stop and more
- Material
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Stakes
- 10 / 10
- Sign size
- 5 / 10
- Pieces
- 6 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Metal stakes push into dry autumn ground more easily than plastic ones
- Small enough to line a walk without crowding it
Watch out
- At 12 x 9 in the signs read from the walk, not from the street
- Material not stated in the listing text
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07V4B4NC5), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
Amscan cemetery sidewalk signs, 3 pack, 12 x 9 in
3 corrugated plastic signs, 12 x 9 in
4.5
/ 10
Skip. The same sign size as the PREXTEX set at half the count, with no stakes we could confirm.
Published specifications
- Signs
- 3
- Size
- 12 x 9 in
- Material
- Corrugated plastic, sold as weather resistant
- Wording
- Warning messages such as Keep Out! Condemned, Danger and Beware
- Stakes
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Pieces
- 3 / 10
- Sign size
- 5 / 10
- Stakes
- 2 / 10
- Weather resistance
- 8 / 10
Good
- Corrugated plastic, sold as weather resistant
- Bloodstained lettering sets a haunted-attraction tone
Watch out
- Three signs — half the count of the PREXTEX set at the same 12 x 9 in
- Stakes not itemized in the listing text
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B01FOIV2CW), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Sign size and stakes first, because those decide whether a sign reads and whether it stays up. Then piece count and tone. Every figure below is one the listing publishes; face area is our arithmetic.
| Set | Signs | Size | Face area | Stakes | Tone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amyhill | 12 | Not stated | Not stated | 24 (2 per sign) | Cute |
| GABOSS | 6 | 16.5 x 12.2 in | 201 sq in | Included | Scary |
| 10-piece set | 10 | Not stated | Not stated | Included | Cute to spooky |
| PREXTEX | 6 | 12 x 9 in | 108 sq in | Metal | Scary |
| Amscan | 3 | 12 x 9 in | 108 sq in | Not stated | Scary |
Face area is width times height, our arithmetic. Included means the listing says stakes come with the set but does not publish the count.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Sign size is reading distance
The arithmetic
- GABOSS: 16.5 in x 12.2 in = 201 sq in per sign
- PREXTEX and Amscan: 12 in x 9 in = 108 sq in per sign
- 201 / 108 = 1.86
The GABOSS face is 86% bigger than a 12 x 9 in sign. Put the big signs at the front of the lawn, where they are read from the street, and the 12 x 9 in signs along the walk, where people read them from a few feet away.
Two of the five sets publish no size at all. “Large” in a listing title is not a measurement, so stand one sign up in the yard on day one and look at it from the sidewalk before deciding where the rest go.
Two stakes per sign
A corrugated plastic sign on one stake spins in the wind and is face-down by the weekend. Two stakes, one at each edge, hold it square to the street. The Amyhill set is the only one here that publishes the count: 24 stakes for 12 signs, two each. The PREXTEX set names metal stakes, which go into dry October ground more easily than plastic. It is the same two-stake rule we use for Easter yard signs and fall porch signs.
How many signs a walk takes
The arithmetic
- Example front walk: 30 ft from sidewalk to step (an assumption — measure yours)
- One sign every 5 ft, one side: 30 / 5 = 6 signs
- Both sides: 12 signs
- Stakes at two per sign: 24
A 30 ft walk lined on both sides at 5 ft spacing takes 12 signs and 24 stakes — exactly the Amyhill set. One side at the same spacing takes 6, the GABOSS or PREXTEX count.
Cute or scary
The street decides this more than the sign does. The Amyhill pumpkins and ghosts and the 10-piece set’s ghosts, mummy and black cat are friendly. Warning signs — Beware, Keep Out, Zombies Stop — suit older kids and a haunted-house yard. If the block is full of toddlers, the ideas on family-friendly Halloween decorations sit at the right level. Mixing both works, as long as the scary set stands deeper in the yard and the friendly one lines the walk.
The rest of the yard
Signs fill the gaps between bigger pieces. Halloween tombstones are the classic partner, and pathway lights keep the signs readable after dark. When the season ends, the signs lie flat in a tote with the tombstones; the system is on Halloween decoration storage.
Questions
›How many Halloween yard signs do I need?
Measure the walk. At one sign every 5 ft, a 30 ft walk takes 6 signs a side, 12 for both sides — and 24 stakes at two per sign.
›How do you keep yard signs from blowing over?
Two stakes per sign, one at each edge. A sign on a single stake spins in the wind. Metal stakes push into dry autumn ground more easily than plastic ones.
›Are corrugated plastic yard signs waterproof?
Corrugated plastic does not soak up rain the way cardboard does, and the listings here sell it as waterproof or weather resistant. Store the signs flat and out of the light between seasons.
›Cute or scary Halloween yard signs?
Match the street. Friendly pumpkins and ghosts suit a block of small children; warning signs suit a haunted-house yard. Put the scary set deeper in the yard and the friendly one along the walk.
Sources
- Amyhill 12 piece yard signs listing (ASIN B0FBVDWKGL) — 12 signs, 24 stakes, corrugated plastic, weather and fade resistant, ghosts and pumpkins in witch hats
- GABOSS beware signs listing (ASIN B096P4BTNJ) — 6 pieces, 16.5 x 12.2 in, assorted warning signs, yard stakes
- 10 piece Halloween yard stakes listing (ASIN B0H7S69QYG) — 10 pieces, waterproof corrugated plastic, ghosts, pumpkins, mummy, witch, black cat, tombstone
- PREXTEX scary yard signs listing (ASIN B07V4B4NC5) — 6 pieces, 12 x 9 in, metal stakes, Beware, No Trespassing, Zombies Stop
- Amscan cemetery sidewalk signs listing (ASIN B01FOIV2CW) — 3 pack, 12 x 9 in, corrugated plastic, weather resistant
- Face area and spacing arithmetic — Width times height; signs per walk at 5 ft spacing on an example 30 ft walk — our arithmetic
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.