Skip to content
Wreath & WattWreath & Watt home

The best Halloween pathway lights, and when solar is not enough

Six skulls, pumpkins or eyeballs lining the walk to the door. Solar stakes are easy; plug-in stakes are the ones that light after a cloudy day.

By Sawyer V. · Published

Halloween decorations lit outside a house at night

The walk to the front door is the one part of a Halloween display every trick-or-treater uses, and lining it is the simplest way to make the whole house read as decorated. It also tells children where the path is, which on a dark yard matters.

Almost every set is six stakes. What separates them is solar against plug-in, and whether the listing tells you how long the lights will last. Five sets below.

Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1No imageGlooglitter solar skull stake lights, 6 pack6 to 8 h charge, 12 to 16 h of lightThe only published charge and run time7.3/ 10
2No imageSkull pathway stake lights, 6 pack on 13 ft, plug-inPlug-in, connectable, 6 skulls on a 13 ft runA walkway that lights every night, sun or not8.3/ 10
3No imageSolar pumpkin stake lights, 6 pack, 42 LEDs, 8 modes42 LEDs across 6 pumpkins — 7 per pumpkinA friendly walkway6.8/ 10
4No imageSolar eyeball stake lights, set of 6, 8 modes6 eyeball stakes, 8 modesA scarier walkway6.3/ 10
5No imageSolar ghost path kit, 3 pack, warm whiteThree stakes where the field ships sixSkip thisSkip4.3/ 10

Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.

The picks in full

No image

#1 — The only published charge and run time

Glooglitter solar skull stake lights, 6 pack

6 to 8 h charge, 12 to 16 h of light

The pick. It is the only listing here that tells you how long it will actually stay lit.

Published specifications

Pieces
6
Design
Skull
Power
Solar
Charge time
6 to 8 hours
Run time
12 to 16 hours
Weather
Waterproof, per the listing

Our scoring

Published run time
10 / 10
No wiring
10 / 10
Published height
1 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • Charge and run times are both published — the numbers that tell you whether a solar light will last the evening
  • Six stakes lines a short front walk

Watch out

  • October days are shorter than summer ones, so the full charge figure is not guaranteed
  • No published height

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FC142ZT7), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#2 — A walkway that lights every night, sun or not

Skull pathway stake lights, 6 pack on 13 ft, plug-in

Plug-in, connectable, 6 skulls on a 13 ft run

The reliable option. Solar is easier to install; plug-in is the one that lights every night of October.

Published specifications

Pieces
6
Run length
13 ft
Spacing
2.6 ft (13 ft over 5 gaps — our arithmetic)
Power
Plug-in
Connectable
Yes
Weather
Waterproof, per the listing

Our scoring

Reliability
10 / 10
Connectable
9 / 10
Ease of install
6 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • Plug-in power means it lights after a cloudy day, which no solar stake can promise
  • Connectable, so a longer walk takes two sets from one outlet

Watch out

  • A cord to run and an outlet to find
  • The skulls are fixed on the string, so spacing is set at about 2.6 ft

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0H1GC1TR2), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#3 — A friendly walkway

Solar pumpkin stake lights, 6 pack, 42 LEDs, 8 modes

42 LEDs across 6 pumpkins — 7 per pumpkin

The family-friendly pick. Set it to steady orange rather than the color modes and it reads as a row of jack-o'-lanterns.

Published specifications

Pieces
6
Design
Pumpkin
LEDs
42, multicolor
LEDs per pumpkin
7 (42 over 6 — our arithmetic)
Modes
8
Power
Solar

Our scoring

Family-friendly
10 / 10
Published LED count
9 / 10
Published run time
1 / 10
Spec completeness
7 / 10

Good

  • Pumpkins rather than skulls, which suits a street with small children
  • A published LED count, so you know each pumpkin is lit rather than glowing

Watch out

  • Multicolor modes read as party lights rather than jack-o'-lanterns
  • No published run time

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FCM9W5LY), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#4 — A scarier walkway

Solar eyeball stake lights, set of 6, 8 modes

6 eyeball stakes, 8 modes

The pick for a walkway that should make people hesitate. Check the panel gets afternoon sun.

Published specifications

Pieces
6
Design
Eyeball
Modes
8
Power
Solar
Weather
Waterproof, per the listing
Run time
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Effect
9 / 10
Modes
9 / 10
Published run time
1 / 10
Spec completeness
6 / 10

Good

  • Eyeballs lining a path are more unsettling than skulls, and cheaper to do well
  • Eight modes, so they can flicker rather than sit steady

Watch out

  • No published run time or charge time
  • Firmly scary, so wrong for a family street

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0D5D7GW7F), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#5 — skip this

Solar ghost path kit, 3 pack, warm white

Three stakes where the field ships six

Our skip. Half the stakes of the field, with nothing published that makes up for it.

Published specifications

Pieces
3
Design
Ghost
Color
Warm white
Power
Solar
Run time
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Pieces
3 / 10
Family-friendly
9 / 10
Published run time
1 / 10
Spec completeness
4 / 10

Good

  • Warm white ghosts are the gentlest lighting on this page

Watch out

  • Three stakes marks a spot rather than lining a path — every other set here ships six
  • No published run time

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FC2LM93B), verified 2026-09-11.

How we ranked these

Published run time or reliable power first, then the design and its LED count, then how many stakes are in the box.

Published power, run time and design
SetStakesDesignPowerRun time
Glooglitter6SkullSolar, 6 to 8 h charge12 to 16 h
Skull string, 13 ft6SkullPlug-in, connectableEvery night
Solar pumpkins6Pumpkin, 42 LEDsSolarNot stated
Eyeball stakes6EyeballSolarNot stated
Ghost path kit3GhostSolarNot stated

One listing publishes charge and run time. The plug-in set does not depend on sun at all.

Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.

Solar in October

The Glooglitter skulls publish 6 to 8 hours of charge for 12 to 16 hours of light. October days are shorter than the summer days solar ratings are written for, and trick-or-treat is on one specific night whatever the weather did that afternoon.

That is the case for the plug-in skull string: it lights on Halloween night even if it rained all day. The same solar caveat, for year-round path lights, is on the best solar path lights.

How far six stakes go

The arithmetic

  1. Plug-in string: 13 ft run, 6 stakes, 5 gaps
  2. 13 ft / 5 = 2.6 ft between skulls
  3. Solar stakes: placed freely — at 4 ft apart, 6 stakes line 20 ft
  4. Both sides of a 20 ft walk: 12 stakes, two sets

A plug-in set lines about 13 ft at fixed spacing; free-standing solar stakes stretch further. Lining both sides of a typical front walk takes two sets.

Skulls, pumpkins or eyeballs

The design sets the tone for the whole walk. The solar pumpkins publish 42 LEDs across six, seven per pumpkin, and set to steady orange they read as a row of jack-o’-lanterns — the friendliest option. The eyeball stakes are the most unsettling. Skulls sit between the two.

If a lot of small children come to your door, go friendly; the reasoning is on family-friendly Halloween decorations.

Part of the display

A lit path leads the eye to whatever is at the end of it. Line the walk toward a graveyard of tombstones or a lit porch, and the path becomes part of the scene. The Christmas version of the same idea, with the sets-per-path arithmetic, is on the best Christmas pathway lights.

Questions

Do solar Halloween pathway lights work in October?

Usually, with shorter run times than in summer. One set here publishes 6 to 8 hours of charge for 12 to 16 hours of light. After a cloudy day they may not last the night; a plug-in set does not have that problem.

How many Halloween pathway lights do I need?

A set of six lines about 13 to 20 ft of one side of a path. Both sides of a typical front walk take two sets.

Are Halloween pathway lights safe for trick-or-treaters?

Placed at the edge of the path with stakes pushed in fully, yes — they help children see the walk. Keep any cord on the far side from the path.

Solar or plug-in pathway lights?

Solar for easy setup anywhere with sun. Plug-in if you need them lit on Halloween night whatever the weather did that day.

Sources

  • Glooglitter solar skull stake lights listing (ASIN B0FC142ZT7)6 pack, solar, 6 to 8 h charge, 12 to 16 h run time, waterproof
  • Skull pathway string lights listing (ASIN B0H1GC1TR2)6 pack on 13 ft, plug-in, connectable, waterproof
  • Solar pumpkin stake lights listing (ASIN B0FCM9W5LY)6 pack, 42 colorful LEDs, 8 modes, solar, waterproof
  • Solar eyeball stake lights listing (ASIN B0D5D7GW7F)Set of 6, 8 modes, solar, waterproof
  • Solar ghost path kit listing (ASIN B0FC2LM93B)3 pack, warm white, solar
  • Spacing arithmeticOur arithmetic from the published run length and stake count

We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.