The best seasonal garden flags, and the stand that keeps them flying
Twelve flags is a year of front bed that changes itself. The stand, and the clip that stops the flag wrapping round it, decide whether it looks cared for.
By Sawyer V. · Published

A garden flag is the smallest seasonal decoration there is and the only one that runs all year. Stand it in the front bed, swap the flag on the first of the month, and the house acknowledges every season from Valentine’s Day to Christmas for the effort of a thirty-second change.
The flags are nearly all the same size. What separates the good setups from the tired ones is the hardware: a stand that does not rust and a clip that stops the flag wrapping around its own pole. Five pieces below — two flag sets, two stands and our skip.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageSeasonal garden flags, 8 pack, with stand, stopper and clip8 double-sided 12 x 18 in flags plus the stand | Starting from nothing | 6.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageYileqi seasonal garden flags, set of 12, clip and stopper12 double-sided 12 x 18 in flags with anti-wind hardware | A flag for every month | 8.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageHOOSUN garden flag stand, powder-coated, clip and stoppersPowder-coated, weather-proof paint, with clip and spring stoppers | The stand that holds a flag in wind | 7.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageWrought iron garden flag stand with bird finialHeavy-duty wrought iron, fits 12 x 18 and 12.5 x 18 in flags | A stand that is decorative in its own right | 7.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageSeasonal garden flags, set of 12, 12 x 18 in12 flags, no hardwareSkip this | Skip | 4.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — Starting from nothing
Seasonal garden flags, 8 pack, with stand, stopper and clip
8 double-sided 12 x 18 in flags plus the stand
6.5
/ 10
The pick if you own nothing yet. Everything needed to fly a flag the day it arrives.
Published specifications
- Flags
- 8, double-sided
- Flag size
- 12 x 18 in
- Stand
- Included
- Hardware
- Flag stopper and anti-wind clip
- Fabric
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Complete kit
- 10 / 10
- Flag count
- 7 / 10
- Published fabric
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- The only set here with the stand in the box — flags, pole, stopper and clip, ready to plant
- Eight flags covers the major holidays through the year
Watch out
- Eight rather than twelve, so a few months share a flag
- Fabric is not stated, so fade resistance is unknown
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08BRB3NR4), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — A flag for every month
Yileqi seasonal garden flags, set of 12, clip and stopper
12 double-sided 12 x 18 in flags with anti-wind hardware
8.0
/ 10
The year-round set. Add either stand below and the front bed changes itself on the first of every month.
Published specifications
- Flags
- 12, double-sided
- Flag size
- 12 x 18 in
- Hardware
- Anti-wind clip and stopper included
- Stand
- Not included
Our scoring
- Flag count
- 10 / 10
- Wind hardware
- 9 / 10
- Complete kit
- 5 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- Twelve flags is one per month, which is the simplest rotation there is
- Wind clip and stopper included, so the flag stays flat and on the pole
Watch out
- No stand — pair it with one below
- Fabric not stated
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08PZCWT7R), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — The stand that holds a flag in wind
HOOSUN garden flag stand, powder-coated, clip and stoppers
Powder-coated, weather-proof paint, with clip and spring stoppers
7.5
/ 10
The stand pick. It is the part that stays out all year, so buy the one with the weather-proof finish.
Published specifications
- Finish
- Powder-coated, weather-proof paint
- Hardware
- Flag clip and spring stoppers
- Flag
- Not included
- Fits
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Weather finish
- 10 / 10
- Wind hardware
- 10 / 10
- Published fit
- 3 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- A powder-coated finish is what keeps a stand from rusting in its first wet spring
- Spring stoppers and a clip keep the flag from blowing off or wrapping around the pole
Watch out
- The flag sizes it fits are not stated in the listing we verified
- No flag included
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0742G9C3D), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — A stand that is decorative in its own right
Wrought iron garden flag stand with bird finial
Heavy-duty wrought iron, fits 12 x 18 and 12.5 x 18 in flags
7.3
/ 10
The looks pick, and the one that tells you what fits. Add a wind clip.
Published specifications
- Material
- Wrought iron, black
- Fits
- 12 x 18 in and 12.5 x 18 in flags
- Detail
- Bird finial
- Hardware
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Published fit
- 10 / 10
- Appearance
- 9 / 10
- Wind hardware
- 3 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Publishes the flag sizes it fits, including the slightly wider 12.5 in flags
- Wrought iron with a bird finial looks finished even between flags
Watch out
- No published anti-wind clip or stoppers
- Wrought iron needs its finish looked after or it rusts at the joints
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B089LS52PT), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
Seasonal garden flags, set of 12, 12 x 18 in
12 flags, no hardware
4.5
/ 10
Our skip. The Yileqi set is the same count and size and includes the hardware that keeps it on the pole.
Published specifications
- Flags
- 12, double-sided
- Flag size
- 12 x 18 in
- Hardware
- Not stated in the listing
- Stand
- Not included
Our scoring
- Flag count
- 10 / 10
- Wind hardware
- 1 / 10
- Differentiation
- 2 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 5 / 10
Good
- Twelve double-sided flags, one per month
Watch out
- The same twelve flags as the Yileqi set without the anti-wind clip and stopper
- Nothing further published
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0BYRNYS97), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Completeness first — what you can fly out of the box — then flag count, then wind hardware and finish. Every figure is one the listing publishes.
| Piece | Flags | Size | Stand | Wind hardware |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 pack with stand | 8 | 12 x 18 in | Included | Stopper + clip |
| Yileqi 12 | 12 | 12 x 18 in | No | Clip + stopper |
| HOOSUN stand | — | Not stated | Stand only | Clip + spring stoppers |
| Wrought iron stand | — | Fits 12 x 18, 12.5 x 18 in | Stand only | Not stated |
| 12 flags, plain | 12 | 12 x 18 in | No | Not stated |
Every flag set here is double-sided and 12 x 18 in. None publishes its fabric or a fade rating.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
A year of flags
The arithmetic
- 12 flags / 12 months = 1 change a month
- 8 flags / 12 months = 4 months share a flag
- One change = pull the stopper, slide the sleeve, replace
A set of twelve gives every month its own flag. A set of eight covers the big holidays and leaves the quiet months — late winter, late summer — on a general seasonal flag.
The rotation that works: a winter flag through February, spring flags for Easter and May, patriotic from Memorial Day through the Fourth of July, a summer flag, fall from September, Halloween in October, Thanksgiving in November, Christmas in December. The bigger displays those months carry are on Fourth of July bunting, the porch plan, September to December, and the spring refresh.
The clip is the difference
A garden flag hangs from a sleeve on a horizontal arm. In any breeze it swings, and in a steady wind it wraps itself around the upright and stays there — which is how most garden flags spend most of their lives.
An anti-wind clip holds the lower corner to the upright, and stoppers keep the sleeve from sliding off the arm. The HOOSUN stand publishes both; the Yileqi and 8-pack sets include them with the flags. The wrought iron stand does not say, and is worth a clip bought separately.
One size, and one exception
Every flag set here is 12 x 18 in, which is the standard garden flag. Some flags are cut 12.5 in wide, and a stand sized exactly for 12 in can bind on them. The wrought iron stand is the only one that publishes fitting both, which makes it the safe choice if you buy flags from several sources.
What none of them publishes
No listing here states the flag fabric or a fade rating. A flag in the front bed faces the sun all day, and the summer flags face the strongest of it. Double-sided printing helps — the side facing the house fades less — and rotating monthly means no single flag is out more than a few weeks a year. The weather argument is on fall decor weather durability.
Storing twelve flags
Flags store flat in a single folder or a shallow bin, labeled by month so the next one is on top. It is the easiest seasonal item in the whole inventory to keep in order — see labeling and inventory.
Questions
›What size is a garden flag?
The standard is 12 x 18 in, which every set here publishes. Some are cut 12.5 in wide; one stand here publishes fitting both.
›How do you keep a garden flag from wrapping around the pole?
An anti-wind clip holding the lower corner to the upright, plus stoppers on the arm. One stand and two flag sets here include them.
›How many seasonal garden flags do I need?
Twelve gives every month its own flag. Eight covers the major holidays, with a general seasonal flag filling the quiet months.
›Do garden flags fade?
In full sun, yes, and no listing here publishes a fade rating. Rotating monthly limits each flag to a few weeks of sun a year, and double-sided printing keeps one face fresher.
Sources
- Seasonal garden flags 8 pack with stand listing (ASIN B08BRB3NR4) — 8 double-sided 12 x 18 in flags, stand pole, flag stopper, anti-wind clip
- Yileqi seasonal garden flag set listing (ASIN B08PZCWT7R) — 12 double-sided 12 x 18 in flags, anti-wind clip and stopper
- HOOSUN garden flag stand listing (ASIN B0742G9C3D) — Powder-coated, weather-proof paint, flag clip and spring stoppers, no flag
- Wrought iron garden flag stand listing (ASIN B089LS52PT) — Heavy-duty black wrought iron, bird finial, fits 12 x 18 and 12.5 x 18 in flags
- Seasonal garden flags set of 12 listing (ASIN B0BYRNYS97) — 12 double-sided 12 x 18 in flags
- Rotation arithmetic — Flags per set against 12 months — our arithmetic
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.