The best pumpkin carving kits, ranked on the tools you actually use
A 31-piece kit sounds better than a 7-piece one. Most carving is done with five tools, and the listings that name them are the ones worth buying.
By Sawyer V. · Published

The kitchen knife is the wrong tool for a pumpkin. It is too thick to turn a curve, too sharp to use safely with cold, wet hands, and useless for the fine work that makes a jack-o’-lantern look carved rather than hacked. A carving kit fixes all three.
Kits are sold on piece counts, which mostly count stencils. What matters is which tools are in the box. Five kits below, ranked on what the listing names.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageCHRYZTAL pumpkin carving kit, 13 pieces, with case8 fine sculpting tools plus saws, scoop, etcher and drill | Detailed carving and etching | 7.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageShuttle Art pumpkin carving kit, 10 tools and 10 stencils10 stainless tools, 10 stencils, carrying case | A family carving night | 8.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageGreatever pumpkin carving kit, 7 tools, 12 stencils7 core tools plus 12 stencils | The essentials and a lot of designs | 8.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageCarveFun pumpkin carving kit, 31 pieces, 20 tools20 tools — enough for more than one person | Several carvers at once | 7.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageENVEL pumpkin carving kit, 7 pieces7 stainless pieces, contents not itemizedSkip this | Skip | 3.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — Detailed carving and etching
CHRYZTAL pumpkin carving kit, 13 pieces, with case
8 fine sculpting tools plus saws, scoop, etcher and drill
7.5
/ 10
The pick for anyone who wants to carve well rather than quickly. The contents list is the reason.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 13
- Contents
- 8 sculpting and carving tools, 2 tooth saws, scooper, etching tool, drill
- Material
- Stainless steel, double-sided
- Storage
- Carrying case
- Stencils
- None
Our scoring
- Tool range
- 10 / 10
- Published contents
- 10 / 10
- Stencils
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 9 / 10
Good
- Every tool is itemized, and eight are fine sculpting tools — the ones that do detail rather than hacking
- Double-sided stainless tools, so thirteen pieces do the work of more
Watch out
- No stencils, so the design is up to you
- Fine points need care around children
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08B12CMFZ), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — A family carving night
Shuttle Art pumpkin carving kit, 10 tools and 10 stencils
10 stainless tools, 10 stencils, carrying case
8.5
/ 10
The family pick. Ten designs means nobody spends the evening deciding what to carve.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 20
- Tools
- 10, stainless steel, itemized
- Stencils
- 10
- Storage
- Carrying case
Our scoring
- Beginner-friendly
- 10 / 10
- Published contents
- 9 / 10
- Detail tools
- 6 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 9 / 10
Good
- An even split of tools and stencils, so beginners have designs to follow
- Tools itemized in the listing, including an etching tool, saws and a scoop
Watch out
- Stencils are paper designs, used once
- Fewer fine sculpting tools than the CHRYZTAL
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0B5Q8SNWH), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — The essentials and a lot of designs
Greatever pumpkin carving kit, 7 tools, 12 stencils
7 core tools plus 12 stencils
8.3
/ 10
The essentials pick. Seven tools you will actually use and more designs than anyone else ships.
Published specifications
- Tools
- 7: scooper, small saw, etching tool, double-sided saws, drill, small knife
- Stencils
- 12
- Material
- 2Cr13 stainless steel and polypropylene
- Storage
- Storage bag
Our scoring
- Stencils
- 10 / 10
- Published material
- 10 / 10
- Detail tools
- 4 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 9 / 10
Good
- The seven tools that do almost all the work, named, with the steel grade published
- Twelve stencils is the most designs here
Watch out
- No fine sculpting tools
- A bag rather than a case
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07H5BX2B5), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — Several carvers at once
CarveFun pumpkin carving kit, 31 pieces, 20 tools
20 tools — enough for more than one person
7.5
/ 10
The group pick. Buy it for a carving party; buy the CHRYZTAL for yourself.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 31
- Tools
- 20, stainless steel
- Stencils
- 10, cardboard
- Storage
- Carrying case
Our scoring
- Tool count
- 10 / 10
- Stencils
- 8 / 10
- Published contents
- 5 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Twenty tools means two or three people can carve at once without passing a saw around
- Cardboard stencils are sturdier than paper
Watch out
- The tools are not itemized in the listing we verified
- Most people use four or five tools; the rest stay in the case
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CRHRTB5L), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
ENVEL pumpkin carving kit, 7 pieces
7 stainless pieces, contents not itemized
3.3
/ 10
Our skip. The Greatever is the same size of kit and tells you what is in it.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 7
- Material
- Stainless steel
- Contents
- Not stated in the listing
- Stencils
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Published contents
- 1 / 10
- Stencils
- 1 / 10
- Material
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 3 / 10
Good
- Stainless steel, the right material
Watch out
- The seven pieces are not named in the listing we verified
- The Greatever is also seven tools, itemized, with twelve stencils
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07H1BRCK7), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Published tool list first, then the range of tools, then stencils and storage. Piece counts are the listings’ own.
| Kit | Pieces | Tools | Stencils | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHRYZTAL | 13 | 13, itemized | None | Case |
| Shuttle Art | 20 | 10, itemized | 10 | Case |
| Greatever | 19 | 7, itemized | 12 | Bag |
| CarveFun | 31 | 20, not itemized | 10 | Case |
| ENVEL | 7 | 7, not itemized | Not stated | Not stated |
Greatever's piece count is 7 tools plus 12 stencils, our arithmetic. Three listings name every tool.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
The five tools that do the work
Almost every carving uses the same handful: a scoop to clear the inside, a saw to cut the lid and the main openings, a small saw for curves, a drill or poker for dots and for transferring a stencil, and an etching tool to shave the skin without cutting through. Every itemized kit here has all five.
The arithmetic
- CarveFun: 20 tools in 31 pieces
- Tools most carvings use: about 5
- 20 - 5 = 15 tools that mostly stay in the case
A big kit is useful for a group — several people carving at once — and no better for one person. For one carver, the itemized 7 to 13 tool kits cover everything.
Detail tools, for the carving you remember
The CHRYZTAL kit has eight fine sculpting and carving tools alongside the saws, scoop, etcher and drill. Fine tools are what let you shade a face by etching rather than cutting — the difference between a triangle-eyed jack-o’-lantern and one that looks sculpted.
Stencils, for the carving night
The Greatever ships twelve stencils, the most here, and the Shuttle Art ten, with a matching ten tools. For a family evening, stencils are what stop everyone spending the first hour deciding what to carve.
Carve close to Halloween
A carved pumpkin starts to soften within days of being opened, and faster in warm weather. Carve two or three days before Halloween, not two weeks. If you want jack-o’-lanterns out all October, that is the argument for artificial ones — see real vs artificial pumpkins and outdoor pumpkins and lanterns.
Carving with children
Carving saws are serrated, not sharp-edged, which is why they are safer than knives for children — but they still cut. Let children scoop, draw and poke the stencil pattern; let an adult do the sawing. Then put the finished pumpkins at the end of a lit path — see Halloween pathway lights.
Questions
›What tools do you need to carve a pumpkin?
A scoop, a saw, a small saw for curves, a drill or poker, and an etching tool. Every kit here that names its tools includes all five.
›Is a bigger pumpkin carving kit better?
Only for a group. Most carving uses about five tools; a 20-tool kit is useful when several people carve at once.
›How far ahead can you carve a pumpkin?
Two or three days. A carved pumpkin softens within days, faster in warm weather.
›Should you put a real candle in a carved pumpkin?
A battery LED candle is safer, especially on a porch with straw, leaves or children in costumes nearby. It gives the same flicker without a flame.
Sources
- CHRYZTAL pumpkin carving kit listing (ASIN B08B12CMFZ) — 13 pieces: 8 sculpting and carving tools, 2 saws, scooper, etching tool, drill; stainless, double-sided; case
- Shuttle Art pumpkin carving kit listing (ASIN B0B5Q8SNWH) — 20 pieces: 10 stainless tools, 10 stencils, carrying case
- Greatever pumpkin carving kit listing (ASIN B07H5BX2B5) — 7 tools, 12 stencils, 2Cr13 stainless and polypropylene, storage bag
- CarveFun pumpkin carving kit listing (ASIN B0CRHRTB5L) — 31 pieces: 20 tools, 10 cardboard stencils, carrying case
- ENVEL pumpkin carving kit listing (ASIN B07H1BRCK7) — 7 stainless pieces
- Tool-use arithmetic — Published tool count against the five tools most carvings use — our assessment
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.