Skip to content
Wreath & WattWreath & Watt home

The best string light poles, ranked on height and how they hold

A string light pole has one job: hold the string up against its own tension. Height decides where it hangs; anchoring decides whether it stays.

By Sawyer V. · Published

Flag bunting strung along a wooden porch rail

Most patios have one good place to fix a string of lights — the house wall — and no second one. A string light pole is the second one, and it is the difference between a patio lit overhead and a string drooping along a fence.

The pole has two jobs: get the string high enough, and resist the pull of the string trying to drag it inward. Five pairs below, ranked on published height and on how each one is anchored.

Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1No imageVEVOR string light poles, 2 pack, 10.6 ft10.6 ft, powder-coated steel, universal mountingThe tallest published pole8.3/ 10
2No imageString light poles, 2 pack, 8.5 ft, spiral ground anchor5-prong base and spiral ground anchorLawn installs that have to hold7.3/ 10
3No imageString light poles, 2 pack, 10 ft, fence brackets and baseFork, fence brackets and a base in the boxMounting to a fence or a deck rail7.3/ 10
4No imageMutovlin string light poles, 2 pack, 10 ft, multi-segmentMulti-segment poles that break down for storageSeasonal use and compact storage8.0/ 10
5No imageAILBTON string light poles, 2 pack, 10 ft10 ft with a fork, nothing further publishedSkip thisSkip4.3/ 10

Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.

The picks in full

No image

#1 — The tallest published pole

VEVOR string light poles, 2 pack, 10.6 ft

10.6 ft, powder-coated steel, universal mounting

The pick. Height and a weather-ready finish are what a string light pole is for, and this publishes both.

Published specifications

Pieces
2
Height
10.6 ft
Material
Powder-coated steel
Extras
Hooks for lanterns and flags
Mounting
Universal mounting options

Our scoring

Height
10 / 10
Finish
9 / 10
Published mounting
6 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • At 10.6 ft the string clears head height with room to sag, which is the whole point of a pole
  • Powder-coated steel is the right finish for a pole that stays out all summer

Watch out

  • "Universal mounting options" is not an itemized list — check that your surface is covered
  • No published guy-wire or tension rating

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09T992X84), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#2 — Lawn installs that have to hold

String light poles, 2 pack, 8.5 ft, spiral ground anchor

5-prong base and spiral ground anchor

The anchoring pick for a lawn. The shorter height is the trade for a base that stays put.

Published specifications

Pieces
2
Height
8.5 ft
Base
5-prong base with spiral ground anchor
Material
Heavy-duty metal

Our scoring

Published anchoring
10 / 10
Height
6 / 10
Surface range
5 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • A spiral anchor screws into the ground and resists the inward pull of a tensioned string far better than a straight spike
  • The best-documented anchoring in this field

Watch out

  • 8.5 ft is the shortest here — with a foot of sag the string hangs at 7.5 ft
  • Spiral anchors are for soil, not decks or patios

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0BF5TQ8WW), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#3 — Mounting to a fence or a deck rail

String light poles, 2 pack, 10 ft, fence brackets and base

Fork, fence brackets and a base in the box

The pick when the patio has a fence or rail to mount to. Check the fence before you trust it.

Published specifications

Pieces
2
Height
10 ft
Mounting
Fork (ground), fence brackets, base
Material
Metal

Our scoring

Mounting options
10 / 10
Height
9 / 10
Published finish
3 / 10
Spec completeness
7 / 10

Good

  • Three published mounting methods — ground, fence and flat base — cover most patios
  • Fence brackets use a structure that is already fixed, which is the strongest anchor there is

Watch out

  • No published finish, on a pole that lives outdoors
  • A fence has to be solid enough to take the string's pull; the listing cannot tell you that

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0BCV6XS55), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#4 — Seasonal use and compact storage

Mutovlin string light poles, 2 pack, 10 ft, multi-segment

Multi-segment poles that break down for storage

The pick if the poles come down every fall. For a permanent install, a one-piece pole is stiffer.

Published specifications

Pieces
2
Height
10 ft
Construction
Multi-segment
Mounting
Fork
Material
Metal

Our scoring

Storage
10 / 10
Height
9 / 10
Stiffness
6 / 10
Spec completeness
7 / 10

Good

  • Segments break down, so the poles store in a closet over winter instead of leaning in the garage
  • 10 ft is enough height for a sagging string to clear a tall adult

Watch out

  • Every joint in a segmented pole is a place for play to develop under tension
  • Fork mounting only, published

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B097RJFLWZ), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#5 — skip this

AILBTON string light poles, 2 pack, 10 ft

10 ft with a fork, nothing further published

Our skip. The bracketed 10 ft poles publish everything this does and three ways to mount them.

Published specifications

Pieces
2
Height
10 ft
Mounting
Fork
Material
Metal
Finish
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Height
9 / 10
Mounting options
3 / 10
Published finish
1 / 10
Spec completeness
4 / 10

Good

  • 10 ft, which is the right height

Watch out

  • The same height and fork as the bracketed poles above, with fewer mounting options published
  • No published finish or anchoring detail

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0B7RB18MS), verified 2026-09-11.

How we ranked these

Height first, then published anchoring and mounting, then finish. Every figure is one the listing publishes; the headroom figures are our arithmetic.

Published height, anchoring and finish
PolesHeightAnchoringMountingFinish
VEVOR10.6 ftNot itemizedUniversal, per listingPowder-coated steel
Spiral-anchor poles8.5 ft5-prong base, spiral anchorGroundHeavy-duty metal
Bracketed poles10 ftForkGround, fence, baseNot stated
Mutovlin10 ftForkGroundNot stated
AILBTON10 ftForkGroundNot stated

Every set is a 2 pack. No listing publishes a tension rating.

Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.

Where the string actually hangs

The height on the box is where the string is fixed. The string then sags between poles, and the lowest point of the sag is what people walk under.

The arithmetic

  1. Assume 1 ft of sag at midspan (a moderate, tidy drape)
  2. VEVOR: 10.6 ft - 1 ft = 9.6 ft at midspan
  3. 10 ft poles: 10 - 1 = 9 ft
  4. 8.5 ft poles: 8.5 - 1 = 7.5 ft — 1.5 ft over a 6 ft adult

The 10 and 10.6 ft poles keep the lowest point of the string well over head height. At 8.5 ft, a tall guest has 18 in to spare — fine over a dining table, tight over a walkway.

How much sag a span needs, and how to set it, is on how to hang patio string lights.

Anchoring against the pull

A tensioned string pulls the top of each pole toward the other end of the span. A straight fork in soft ground lets the pole lean in; within a week the string is lower and the pole is crooked.

The spiral-anchor poles screw a helical anchor into the ground under a five-prong base, which resists that pull far better than a spike. The bracketed poles can clamp to a fence, which uses a structure that is already fixed — the strongest anchor there is, if the fence is sound.

Lawn, deck or patio

Forks and spiral anchors are for soil. On a deck or a paved patio you need a flat base bolted down or weighted, or a bracket to a rail. The bracketed poles publish all three options; the VEVOR describes universal mounting without itemizing it, so check it covers your surface.

Up for the summer, or up for good

The Mutovlin poles are multi-segment and break down for winter storage. That is convenient, and every joint is a place where play develops under tension — one-piece poles are stiffer. If the lights are staying up year-round, the reasoning is on year-round outdoor lighting.

The lights themselves

Poles are half the job. The strings that go on them, ranked on published spacing and run length, are on patio string lights, and the cord run back to the outlet on extension cords.

Questions

How tall should string light poles be?

About 10 ft. With a foot of sag, a 10 ft pole keeps the lowest point of the string at 9 ft, comfortably over head height. At 8.5 ft, the low point is about 7.5 ft — fine over a table, tight over a path.

How do you keep string light poles from leaning?

Anchor them properly and guy the end poles. A spiral ground anchor holds far better than a straight spike, and a guy line from the top of each end pole to a stake stops the string pulling it inward.

Can string light poles go on a deck?

Yes, with a flat base bolted down or a bracket to the railing. Forks and spiral anchors are for soil only. One set here includes fence brackets and a base as well as a fork.

Can you leave string light poles up all year?

A powder-coated steel pole is built to. Segmented poles are designed to come down for winter. Either way, check the anchoring each spring.

Sources

  • VEVOR string light poles listing (ASIN B09T992X84)2 pack, 10.6 ft, powder-coated steel, hooks for lanterns and flags, universal mounting options
  • Spiral-anchor string light poles listing (ASIN B0BF5TQ8WW)2 pack, 8.5 ft, 5-prong base and spiral ground anchor, heavy-duty metal
  • Bracketed string light poles listing (ASIN B0BCV6XS55)2 pack, 10 ft, fork, fence brackets and base
  • Mutovlin string light poles listing (ASIN B097RJFLWZ)2 pack, 10 ft, multi-segment, fork
  • AILBTON string light poles listing (ASIN B0B7RB18MS)2 pack, 10 ft, fork, metal
  • Headroom arithmeticPole height minus an assumed 1 ft midspan sag, against a 6 ft adult — our arithmetic

We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.