Skip to content
Wreath & WattWreath & Watt home

The best tiki torches, for a summer patio after dark

A row of torches is the classic summer patio light. Height, build, how much fuel it holds and how you put it out decide which set.

By Sawyer V. · Published

A painted red front door framed by spring greenery

A line of torches along a patio edge is the oldest summer party light there is, and on a July evening nothing else looks quite like a real flame. It is also the one light on this site that is actually on fire, so it gets the most careful ranking.

Four of the five below burn fuel; one is a solar LED flame for yards where an open flame is not welcome. Five below, one to skip.

Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1No imageTIKI Simply Metal torches, 4 pack, 65 in, bronze, easy install65 or 50 in, metal, 4-piece pole, fiberglass wick, snufferThe best-built flame torch8.8/ 10
2No imageLegends Direct metal torches, set of 4, 53 in, 20 oz oil lamp, snuffer53 in metal, 20 oz oil lamp, fiberglass wick, snufferThe most fuel per fill7.0/ 10
3No imageTIKI Royal Polynesian bamboo torches, 4 pack, 60 in, walnut and pecan60 in bamboo, easy-pour canisters, fiberglass wicks, snuffersThe tallest bamboo torch6.8/ 10
4No imageTomCare solar flame torch lights, 4 pack, 43 in, 99 LEDs, flickering flame43 in, 99-LED flickering flame, solar, waterproofThe flame look without a flame7.3/ 10
5No imageTIKI Urban metal 4-in-1 torch, 65 in, singleOne 65 in metal torch, 4-in-1Skip thisSkip6.0/ 10

Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.

The picks in full

No image

#1 — The best-built flame torch

TIKI Simply Metal torches, 4 pack, 65 in, bronze, easy install

65 or 50 in, metal, 4-piece pole, fiberglass wick, snuffer

The pick. Metal, adjustable, snuffer included, burn time published.

Published specifications

Torches
4
Height
65 in full size, or 50 in mid size
Build
Metal, 4-piece pole with easy-install lever
Wick
Long-lasting fiberglass
Snuffer
Metal, included
Burn time
Up to 5 hours per 12 oz fill of TIKI BiteFighter fuel

Our scoring

Build
10 / 10
Height options
10 / 10
Fire safety
6 / 10
Spec completeness
9 / 10

Good

  • Two heights from one pole: 65 in or 50 in
  • Metal, with a snuffer included — the right way to put a flame out
  • Burn time published

Watch out

  • A real flame: it needs clearance from anything that burns
  • Fuel not included in the listing title

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09MV84P7R), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#2 — The most fuel per fill

Legends Direct metal torches, set of 4, 53 in, 20 oz oil lamp, snuffer

53 in metal, 20 oz oil lamp, fiberglass wick, snuffer

Best for a long evening: the biggest reservoir here, so fewer refills.

Published specifications

Torches
4
Height
53 in
Build
Metal, brushed bronze
Reservoir
20 oz oil lamp
Wick
Fiberglass
Snuffer
Included
Burn time
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Build
9 / 10
Height options
5 / 10
Fire safety
6 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • A 20 oz reservoir — two-thirds more fuel per fill than a 12 oz canister
  • Metal, with a snuffer

Watch out

  • 53 in, shorter than the 60 and 65 in torches
  • Burn time not published

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08959NK38), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#3 — The tallest bamboo torch

TIKI Royal Polynesian bamboo torches, 4 pack, 60 in, walnut and pecan

60 in bamboo, easy-pour canisters, fiberglass wicks, snuffers

Best bamboo: the stained Royal Polynesian, snuffers included.

Published specifications

Torches
4
Height
60 in
Build
Bamboo, walnut and pecan finish
Canister
Easy-pour
Wick
Long-lasting fiberglass
Snuffer
Included

Our scoring

Build
8 / 10
Height options
5 / 10
Fire safety
6 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • 60 in — the tallest bamboo torch here
  • Wicks and snuffers named in the listing title

Watch out

  • Bamboo is a natural material; store it dry over winter
  • Burn time not in the listing title

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B078W8MQNJ), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#4 — The flame look without a flame

TomCare solar flame torch lights, 4 pack, 43 in, 99 LEDs, flickering flame

43 in, 99-LED flickering flame, solar, waterproof

Best without fire: a solar flame for a yard where an open torch is not welcome.

Published specifications

Torches
4
Height
43 in
LEDs
99 per torch
Power
Solar, automatic dusk to dawn
Charge and runtime
6-8 hours to charge, 10-12 hours of light
Weather
Waterproof
Stake
Reinforced ground stake

Our scoring

Build
7 / 10
Height options
4 / 10
Fire safety
10 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • No fuel and no flame — safe beside children, pets and a dry lawn
  • Charge time and runtime published

Watch out

  • An LED flicker, not a real flame: convincing across the yard, less so up close
  • 43 in, shorter than the fuel torches

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07RBPLRPV), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#5 — skip this

TIKI Urban metal 4-in-1 torch, 65 in, single

One 65 in metal torch, 4-in-1

Skip. The Simply Metal set is also 65 in TIKI metal, and it comes in fours.

Published specifications

Torches
1
Height
65 in
Build
Metal
Design
4-in-1
Color
Midnight blue (also sold in beach sand)
Burn time
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Build
9 / 10
Height options
6 / 10
Fire safety
5 / 10
Spec completeness
4 / 10

Good

  • 65 in metal, from TIKI
  • Sold in more than one color

Watch out

  • Sold as a single torch; lining a patio takes four
  • The listing title does not explain what 4-in-1 means

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B071XSMVGR), verified 2026-09-11.

How we ranked these

Build and the safety kit first — a snuffer to put the flame out and a pole that stands firm. Then height, fuel capacity and what the listing publishes.

Published height, build, fuel and snuffer
TorchesPackHeightBuildFuelSnuffer
TIKI Simply Metal465 or 50 inMetal12 oz fill, up to 5 hMetal, included
Legends Direct453 inMetal20 oz oil lampIncluded
TIKI Royal Polynesian460 inBambooEasy-pour canisterIncluded
TomCare solar443 inSolar LEDNoneNot needed
TIKI Urban165 inMetalNot statedNot stated

TIKI's 5-hour figure is for a 12 oz fill of its BiteFighter fuel, per the listing.

Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.

How long a fill lasts

The arithmetic

  1. TIKI Simply Metal: a 12 oz fill = up to 5 hours (listing)
  2. Legends Direct: a 20 oz reservoir
  3. 20 / 12 = 1.67
  4. If it burns at TIKI's rate (an assumption): 1.67 x 5 = about 8 hours

The Legends Direct reservoir holds two-thirds more fuel than a 12 oz canister. Its listing does not publish a burn time, so the 8 hours is our estimate at TIKI's rate, not a spec — but it is the torch to fill once for a long evening.

How many torches a patio edge takes

The arithmetic

  1. Example: a 24 ft patio edge (an assumption)
  2. One torch every 8 ft: 24 / 8 = 3 gaps = 4 torches
  3. That is one 4 pack

A 4 pack lines a 24 ft edge at 8 ft spacing. A bigger patio takes two packs, so plan the fuel for 8 torches, not 4.

Metal or bamboo

Metal holds up to weather and stands on a steadier pole; the Simply Metal set’s 4-piece pole has an easy-install lever and sets up at 65 in or 50 in. Keep the taller setting for the edge of the patio, away from where people walk. The Royal Polynesian is the classic bamboo look, dressed up with a walnut and pecan stain, but bamboo is a natural material: store it dry over winter.

A flame without the fire

The TomCare torch imitates a flicker with 99 LEDs, charges in 6 to 8 hours of sun and runs 10 to 12 hours, per its listing. At 43 in it is shorter than the fuel torches, and it is convincing from across the yard rather than up close. For a family yard or a dry summer, it is the safe pick. The solar trade-offs are on solar vs plug-in outdoor lighting.

Why the TIKI Urban is the skip

The TIKI Urban is a single 65 in metal torch, and its title does not explain what 4-in-1 means. Lining a patio takes four, and the Simply Metal set is also 65 in TIKI metal, sold in fours.

The rest of the patio

Torches are the flame layer. The string-light layer is on patio string lights and how to hang patio string lights; the path out to the yard is on solar path lights.

Questions

How long does a tiki torch burn?

TIKI’s listing gives up to 5 hours per 12 oz fill of its fuel. A 20 oz reservoir, like the Legends Direct, holds two-thirds more.

How far apart should tiki torches be?

There is no fixed rule. At 8 ft spacing, a 24 ft patio edge takes four torches. Keep them out of walkways and well clear of anything that burns.

Are there tiki torches without a flame?

Yes. Solar flame torches like the TomCare use 99 LEDs to imitate a flicker, with no fuel. They are shorter, at 43 in, and the safest choice around children and pets.

How do you put out a tiki torch?

With the snuffer; every fuel torch here except the single TIKI Urban names one. Let the torch cool before refilling it.

Sources

  • TIKI Simply Metal torches listing (ASIN B09MV84P7R)4 pack, 65 in or 50 in, metal, 4-piece pole with easy-install lever, fiberglass wick, metal snuffer, up to 5 h per 12 oz fill of TIKI BiteFighter fuel
  • Legends Direct metal torches listing (ASIN B08959NK38)Set of 4, metal, 53 in, snuffer, fiberglass wick, 20 oz oil lamp, brushed bronze
  • TIKI Royal Polynesian torches listing (ASIN B078W8MQNJ)4 pack, 60 in, bamboo, walnut and pecan finish, easy-pour canisters, fiberglass wicks, snuffers
  • TomCare solar torch lights listing (ASIN B07RBPLRPV)4 pack, 43 in, 99 LEDs, flickering flame, 6-8 h charge, 10-12 h runtime, reinforced ground stake, waterproof
  • TIKI Urban torch listing (ASIN B071XSMVGR)Single 65 in metal 4-in-1 torch, midnight blue
  • Burn-time and spacing arithmeticBurn time scaled by reservoir size at TIKI's published rate, and torch spacing, are stated assumptions — our arithmetic

We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.