Skip to content
Wreath & WattWreath & Watt home

The best Christmas tree lights, ranked on what the listing actually publishes

Every string here is 500 LEDs over about 165 feet. Spacing, lead length, controls and a safety listing are what separate them.

By Sawyer V. · Published

A decorated christmas tree in a living room at night

An unlit tree needs lights, and the category has settled on one format: 500 LEDs on about 165 feet of wire. That makes the strings look identical in a search result and very different on a tree.

The differences are in what the listing publishes: bulb spacing, how long the lead is, whether there is a timer, and whether the plug carries a safety listing. Five strings below, plus the arithmetic for how many a tree takes.

Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1No imageYEGUO tree lights, 500 LED, 165 ft, UL588 plug3.94 in spacing, 9.8 ft lead, UL588 listed plugThe best-documented tree string9.5/ 10
2No imageFiee fairy lights, 500 LED, 165 ft lit plus 10 ft lead175 ft total — 165 ft lit and a 10 ft leadThe longest total run6.8/ 10
3No imageTcamp tree lights, 500 LED, 164 ft, 3 mm green copper wire3 mm green copper wire, timer and memoryA heavier wire for a full tree7.5/ 10
4No imageMYGOTO tree lights, 500 LED, 165 ft, multicolor500 multicolor LEDs, 30 VA multicolor tree7.5/ 10
5No imageFUNPENY string lights, 500 LED, 164 ft500 LEDs, no published timer or leadSkip thisSkip2.5/ 10

Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.

The picks in full

No image

#1 — The best-documented tree string

YEGUO tree lights, 500 LED, 165 ft, UL588 plug

3.94 in spacing, 9.8 ft lead, UL588 listed plug

The pick. It publishes the safety listing and every dimension you need to plan a tree around.

Published specifications

LEDs
500, warm white
Lit length
165 ft
Lead wire
9.8 ft
Spacing
3.94 in
Plug
UL588 listed
Power
30 V low-voltage transformer
Modes
8, with timer and memory
Wire
Green

Our scoring

Spec completeness
10 / 10
Safety listing
10 / 10
Lead length
9 / 10
Controls
9 / 10

Good

  • Spacing, lead length, voltage and a UL588 listing all published — the most complete tree-light listing here
  • A 9.8 ft lead reaches the outlet from the middle of a room without an extension cord

Watch out

  • No published wattage, so load has to be read from the transformer label
  • Green wire suits a green tree only

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09VBKKGHR), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#2 — The longest total run

Fiee fairy lights, 500 LED, 165 ft lit plus 10 ft lead

175 ft total — 165 ft lit and a 10 ft lead

The reach pick. Add a plug timer and it matches the YEGUO on everything but the published safety listing.

Published specifications

LEDs
500, warm white
Lit length
165 ft
Lead wire
10 ft
Total length
175 ft
Modes
8, with memory
Timer
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Lead length
10 / 10
Controls
6 / 10
Safety listing
3 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • A 10 ft lead is the longest here, stated separately from the lit length
  • Memory recalls the last mode after a power cut

Watch out

  • No published timer, so it is switched by hand or by a plug-in timer
  • No published safety listing on this variant

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09178GTJ5), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#3 — A heavier wire for a full tree

Tcamp tree lights, 500 LED, 164 ft, 3 mm green copper wire

3 mm green copper wire, timer and memory

A solid tree string with the controls you want. The YEGUO publishes more of what matters.

Published specifications

LEDs
500, warm white
Lit length
164 ft
Wire
Green copper, 3 mm diameter
Modes
8: combination, waves, sequential, slo-glo, chasing, slow fade, twinkle, steady
Timer
Yes, with memory

Our scoring

Wire build
9 / 10
Controls
10 / 10
Lead length
3 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • A published 3 mm wire diameter — thicker wire holds its shape along a branch
  • Every one of the eight modes is named in the listing

Watch out

  • No published lead length
  • No published safety listing

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08KSR154L), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#4 — A multicolor tree

MYGOTO tree lights, 500 LED, 165 ft, multicolor

500 multicolor LEDs, 30 V

The pick for a multicolor tree. For warm white, choose the YEGUO.

Published specifications

LEDs
500, multicolor
Lit length
165 ft
Power
30 V
Modes
8
Wire
Green
Timer
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Color option
10 / 10
Low voltage
9 / 10
Controls
5 / 10
Spec completeness
6 / 10

Good

  • The only multicolor string here, for a tree that is not warm white
  • Low-voltage 30 V on the string

Watch out

  • No published timer or lead length
  • Multicolor and warm white strings do not mix on one tree

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0879H89GC), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#5 — skip this

FUNPENY string lights, 500 LED, 164 ft

500 LEDs, no published timer or lead

Our skip. It is the category default with less documented than the strings above it.

Published specifications

LEDs
500, warm white
Lit length
164 ft
Modes
8
Wire
Green
Timer
Not stated in the listing
Lead length
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Controls
4 / 10
Lead length
1 / 10
Safety listing
1 / 10
Spec completeness
4 / 10

Good

  • The same 500 LEDs and 164 ft as the field

Watch out

  • No timer, no lead length and no safety listing published
  • Nothing that would let you prefer it over the YEGUO or the Tcamp

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B087D57RZ2), verified 2026-09-11.

How we ranked these

Spec completeness and safety listing first, then lead length and controls. The LED count is the same across the field, so it is not a differentiator.

Published length, spacing, lead and controls
StringLEDsLit lengthLeadTimerListing
YEGUO500165 ft9.8 ftYesUL588 plug
Fiee500165 ft10 ftNot statedNot stated
Tcamp500164 ftNot statedYesNot stated
MYGOTO multicolor500165 ftNot statedNot statedNot stated
FUNPENY500164 ftNot statedNot statedNot stated

One listing publishes a safety listing, two publish a lead length, two publish a timer. None publishes a wattage.

Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.

500 LEDs over 165 feet

The arithmetic

  1. 165 ft = 1,980 in
  2. 1,980 in / 500 LEDs = 3.96 in between LEDs
  3. YEGUO publishes 3.94 in — the same figure, stated

Every string here spaces its LEDs about 4 in apart. That is the standard mini-light spacing, so the look on the tree is set by how many strings you use, not which one you buy.

How many strings a tree takes

This site’s convention is 100 lights per vertical foot of tree for a normal look, 150 for full and 200 for dense.

The arithmetic

  1. 7.5 ft tree x 100 lights per foot = 750 lights
  2. 750 / 500 per string = 1.5 strings, so 2
  3. Full, 150 per foot: 7.5 x 150 = 1,125 lights = 3 strings
  4. Dense, 200 per foot: 7.5 x 200 = 1,500 lights = 3 strings

A 7.5 ft tree takes two of these strings for a normal look and three for a full one. Buy the same model for every string on the tree, or the whites will not match.

The full method, with every tree height, is on how many Christmas lights do I need.

The lead decides whether you need a cord

The lead is the unlit wire between the plug and the first bulb. The Fiee publishes 10 ft and the YEGUO 9.8 ft, which reaches an outlet from a tree standing well out in a room. Without a published lead, you find out on the day whether you need an extension cord.

Timer and memory

A timer means the tree comes on at dusk without anyone remembering; memory means it comes back in the same mode after the plug is pulled. The YEGUO and the Tcamp publish both. For the others, a plug-in timer does the same job — see outdoor light timers.

Warm white, and one multicolor

Four strings here are warm white; the MYGOTO is multicolor. Do not mix the two on one tree, and do not mix warm white from different makers — “warm white” varies by brand. The argument is on warm white vs cool white, and putting the lights on on decorating a tree, step by step.

Or buy the tree lit

Two or three of these strings on an unlit tree is the alternative to a pre-lit tree, and the trade-offs — replaceable strings against convenience — are on pre-lit vs unlit.

Questions

How many lights do I need for a 7.5 ft Christmas tree?

About 750 for a normal look, using 100 lights per vertical foot — two 500 LED strings. For a full tree, 150 per foot, that is 1,125, or three strings.

How far apart are the LEDs on Christmas tree lights?

About 4 in on every string here: 500 LEDs over 165 ft works out at 3.96 in, and one listing publishes 3.94 in.

Are these Christmas tree lights UL listed?

One string here publishes a UL588-listed plug. The others do not state a listing, so check the tag on the cord when it arrives.

Can you mix different brands of warm white lights?

Best not to. Warm white is not a single color and varies between makers, so two brands on one tree often look mismatched. Buy every string for the tree at once.

Sources

  • YEGUO 500 LED tree lights listing (ASIN B09VBKKGHR)165 ft, 500 warm white LEDs, 9.8 ft lead, 3.94 in spacing, UL588 listed plug, 30 V transformer, 8 modes, timer and memory, green wire
  • Fiee 500 LED fairy lights listing (ASIN B09178GTJ5)500 LEDs, 165 ft lit plus 10 ft lead, 8 modes, memory, warm white
  • Tcamp 500 LED tree lights listing (ASIN B08KSR154L)164 ft, 500 warm white LEDs, 3 mm green copper wire, 8 named modes, timer and memory
  • MYGOTO 500 LED string lights listing (ASIN B0879H89GC)165 ft, 500 multicolor LEDs, 8 modes, 30 V, green wire
  • FUNPENY 500 LED string lights listing (ASIN B087D57RZ2)164 ft, 500 warm white LEDs, 8 modes, green wire
  • Spacing and lights-per-foot arithmetic100, 150 and 200 lights per vertical foot are this site's stated convention

We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.