Christmas tree storage bags: buy the one that publishes its dimensions
Almost every bag says fits up to 9 ft and stops there. Two publish actual dimensions, and those are the only two you can check against your shelf.
By Sawyer V. · Published

“Fits trees up to 9 ft” is not a specification. It does not tell you whether the bag goes on your shelf, whether it fits through the attic hatch, or whether your particular tree’s longest section will lie flat in it.
Two of the five bags here publish real external dimensions. They are the two we recommend, and the reason is not build quality — it is that you can check them before you buy.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageCamerons rolling tree storage bag, up to 9 ft, 58 x 24 x 34 in58 in x 24 in x 34 in — the only published box dimensions here | Anyone who wants the actual dimensions before buying | 8.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imagePrimode rolling tree storage bag, up to 7.5 ft, 22 x 16 x 50 in22 in H x 16 in W x 50 in L | A 7.5 ft tree and a shallow shelf | 7.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageStorageWorks tree storage bag with wheels, 9 ft, 600D OxfordThree wheels, 600D Oxford | Moving a loaded bag on a concrete floor | 7.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageKesfitt rolling tree storage bag, 9 ft, adjustable strapsInternal compression straps, 600D Oxford | Trees that need compressing to fit | 7.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageHandy Laundry tree storage bag with wheels, 9 ft, 600D Oxford600D Oxford, wheels, dual zippersSkip this | A budget 600D bag | 6.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — Anyone who wants the actual dimensions before buying
Camerons rolling tree storage bag, up to 9 ft, 58 x 24 x 34 in
58 in x 24 in x 34 in — the only published box dimensions here
8.3
/ 10
Our top tree bag purely because it publishes its dimensions. Every other bag asks you to trust 'fits up to 9 ft'.
Published specifications
- Fits
- Disassembled artificial trees up to 9 ft
- Dimensions
- 58 in x 24 in x 34 in
- Mobility
- Wheels
- Closure
- Tight zipper, durable handles
Our scoring
- Published dimensions
- 10 / 10
- Fabric grade
- 7 / 10
- Mobility
- 8 / 10
- Closure
- 8 / 10
Good
- Published external dimensions, so you can check it against your shelf before it arrives
- 58 inches long takes a 9-foot tree's longest section without forcing it
Watch out
- A 34-inch height is taller than many garage shelves allow
Dimensions from the Amazon listing (ASIN B00O4EWFWY), retrieved 2026-09-04.
#2 — A 7.5 ft tree and a shallow shelf
Primode rolling tree storage bag, up to 7.5 ft, 22 x 16 x 50 in
22 in H x 16 in W x 50 in L
7.8
/ 10
The one to buy for a 7.5-foot tree. Buying the 9-foot bag 'to be safe' costs you a third more shelf for nothing.
Published specifications
- Fits
- Disassembled trees up to 7.5 ft
- Dimensions
- 22 in H x 16 in W x 50 in L
- Wheels
- 2
- Handles
- Yes
Our scoring
- Published dimensions
- 10 / 10
- Fabric grade
- 7 / 10
- Mobility
- 7 / 10
- Closure
- 7 / 10
Good
- 16 inches wide and 22 tall fits shelving that a 9-foot bag simply will not
- Published dimensions again — the exception rather than the rule
Watch out
- Genuinely will not take a 9-foot tree; the size limit is not conservative
Dimensions from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07TYR7RQ3), retrieved 2026-09-04.
#3 — Moving a loaded bag on a concrete floor
StorageWorks tree storage bag with wheels, 9 ft, 600D Oxford
Three wheels, 600D Oxford
7.5
/ 10
The best-rolling bag here. If your storage is at the end of a long garage, the third wheel is the reason to pick it.
Published specifications
- Fits
- Artificial trees up to 9 ft
- Fabric
- 600D Oxford, tear-resistant
- Wheels
- 3
- Closure
- Dual zipper, handles
- Dimensions
- Not published by the manufacturer
Our scoring
- Published dimensions
- 4 / 10
- Fabric grade
- 9 / 10
- Mobility
- 9 / 10
- Closure
- 8 / 10
Good
- Three wheels beats two on an uneven garage floor — the bag does not tip mid-push
- 600D is the fabric grade worth insisting on
Watch out
- No published dimensions, so shelf fit is a guess until it arrives
Fabric and wheels from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CCXV7MNB), retrieved 2026-09-04.
#4 — Trees that need compressing to fit
Kesfitt rolling tree storage bag, 9 ft, adjustable straps
Internal compression straps, 600D Oxford
7.5
/ 10
Buy this if your tree sections rattle around in a bag. The straps are the feature; the fabric matches the field.
Published specifications
- Fits
- Detachable artificial trees up to 9 ft
- Fabric
- 600D Oxford, extra large, heavy duty
- Straps
- Adjustable, internal
- Closure
- Dual zippers
- Dimensions
- Not published by the manufacturer
Our scoring
- Published dimensions
- 4 / 10
- Fabric grade
- 9 / 10
- Mobility
- 8 / 10
- Closure
- 9 / 10
Good
- Compression straps stop the sections shifting, which is what tears a zipper over a few seasons
Watch out
- No published dimensions
Features from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CB656862), retrieved 2026-09-04.
#5 — skip this
Handy Laundry tree storage bag with wheels, 9 ft, 600D Oxford
600D Oxford, wheels, dual zippers
6.8
/ 10
Skip this here. It publishes no dimensions at all, and on a tree bag the dimensions are the product. You cannot check it against your shelf, your attic hatch or your tree's longest section before it arrives, and "waterproof" here is a marketing word rather than a rating.
A competent budget bag. The dimensions gap is why it is not our pick.
Published specifications
- Fits
- Artificial trees up to 9 ft
- Fabric
- 600D Oxford, described as waterproof
- Closure
- Dual zippers, reinforced handles
- Dimensions
- Not published by the manufacturer
Our scoring
- Published dimensions
- 4 / 10
- Fabric grade
- 8 / 10
- Mobility
- 7 / 10
- Closure
- 8 / 10
Good
- 600D fabric at the low end of the price band
Watch out
- No dimensions published
- 'Waterproof' is a marketing word here, not a rating
Fabric from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09JKY3689), retrieved 2026-09-04.
Published dimensions
| Bag | Fits up to | External dimensions | Wheels | Fabric |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Camerons rolling bag | 9 ft | 58 x 24 x 34 in | Yes | Not stated |
| Primode rolling bag | 7.5 ft | 50 x 16 x 22 in | 2 | Not stated |
| StorageWorks | 9 ft | Not published | 3 | 600D Oxford |
| Kesfitt | 9 ft | Not published | Yes | 600D Oxford |
| Handy Laundry | 9 ft | Not published | Yes | 600D Oxford |
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, retrieved 2026-09-04.
Tree height to bag size
A disassembled tree is not stored at its full height — it is stored as sections, and the bag has to take the longest one. As a working rule the longest section of a hinged artificial tree runs roughly 45 to 55 percent of the total height, plus the stand.
| Tree height | Longest section, approximate | Bag length to look for |
|---|---|---|
| 6 ft | About 30 in | 40 in or more |
| 7 ft | About 34 in | 45 in or more |
| 7.5 ft | About 38 in | 50 in or more |
| 9 ft | About 46 in | 56 in or more |
| 12 ft | About 60 in | 66 in or more |
Section lengths are a working estimate from the proportion rule above, not manufacturer figures. Measure your own longest section — it is the only number that governs, and it takes thirty seconds with the tree already apart.
Source: Our own proportional guidance, stated as an estimate. Bag lengths in the right column are from the published dimensions of the bags on this page.
Check the shelf before you check the tree
The dimension people forget is height. A 34-inch-tall bag does not go on a standard garage shelf, and it will not go up a pull-down attic ladder easily either. This is the whole argument for buying the smaller bag when you have the smaller tree.
The arithmetic
- Garage shelf clear height: 24 in
- Camerons 9 ft bag: 34 in tall — does not fit
- Primode 7.5 ft bag: 22 in tall — fits with 2 in to spare
- Attic hatch: 22 x 30 in — the Primode goes through, the Camerons does not
For a 7.5-foot tree, the smaller bag is not a compromise. It is the one that fits where you actually store things.
Wheels, and how many
A loaded 9-foot tree bag is heavy and awkward, and dragging it is what tears the fabric. Wheels are worth having; three wheels are worth more than two, because a two-wheeled bag tips when the floor is uneven and you end up carrying it anyway.
Wheels only help if the route is smooth, though. If your tree lives up a ladder, weight matters far more than rolling, and the useful features are the handles and the compression straps.
600D Oxford is the grade to insist on
Three of these bags publish 600D Oxford, which is a genuine specification — the denier figure describes the yarn thickness. Thinner polyester bags exist and they tear at the corners on the second or third season, usually at the moment the bag is full and halfway up a ladder.
The word “waterproof” on these listings is not a rating and should not be relied on. If your storage genuinely gets wet, that is a storage problem and no fabric bag solves it — use a rigid tote instead, per bins vs bags vs totes.
Choosing the tree itself is a separate question with its own published numbers — see the best artificial Christmas trees and tree size and tip count.
Questions
›What size storage bag do I need for a 7.5 ft Christmas tree?
A bag around 50 inches long will take the longest section of a typical 7.5-foot hinged tree. Measure your own longest section with the tree apart, and check the bag's height against your shelf before buying a bigger one than you need.
›Is a rolling tree bag worth it?
If the route is a smooth floor, yes — a loaded bag is heavy and dragging it is what tears the fabric. Three wheels beat two on uneven ground. If the tree goes up a ladder, handles and compression straps matter more than wheels.
›What does 600D Oxford mean on a tree bag?
It describes the yarn thickness in the fabric, and it is a real specification rather than a marketing word. Thinner polyester bags tear at the corners after two or three seasons.
Sources
- Camerons tree storage bag listing (ASIN B00O4EWFWY) — 58 x 24 x 34 in, fits up to 9 ft, wheels
- Primode rolling bag listing (ASIN B07TYR7RQ3) — 22 H x 16 W x 50 L in, fits up to 7.5 ft, 2 wheels
- StorageWorks listing (ASIN B0CCXV7MNB) — 600D Oxford, 3 wheels, dual zipper
- Kesfitt listing (ASIN B0CB656862) — 600D Oxford, adjustable internal straps, dual zippers
- Handy Laundry listing (ASIN B09JKY3689) — 600D Oxford, wheels, dual zippers
- Section-length proportion — our own working estimate that the longest section runs roughly 45 to 55 percent of tree height; measure your own
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.