Skip to content
Wreath & WattWreath & Watt home

The best fall string lights, ranked on what they tell you

Leaf and pumpkin lights are what make a fall mantel glow. The best strings publish their timer, their battery and their rating — most publish one.

By Sawyer V. · Published

Pumpkins arranged on a front porch in autumn

Fall string lights — small LEDs inside maple leaves, acorns and pumpkins — are the fall version of fairy lights. Wound through a garland, draped along a mantel or looped around a doorframe, they add a warm glow the rest of fall decor lacks, since almost nothing else on a fall porch lights up.

The strings look alike. The difference is in what the listing publishes about the timer, the batteries and the weather. Five strings below.

Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1No imageFall string lights, 10 ft, 20 LED, pumpkins, acorns and leavesIP44 battery box, 8 modes, 6/18 timerThe best-documented fall string8.8/ 10
2No imageFall garland lights, 2 pack, 20 ft, 60 LED, timer2 x 10 ft, 60 LEDs total, timerA door surround or a long mantel7.8/ 10
3No imageMaple leaf string lights, 10 ft, 40 LED40 LEDs over 10 ft — twice the fieldThe densest fall string6.5/ 10
4No imageFall string lights, 10 ft, 20 LED, orange, timerOrange light, timer, pumpkins and acornsAn orange glow that carries into Halloween7.8/ 10
5No imageIvenf maple leaf string lights, 10 ft, 20 LED20 LED over 10 ft, nothing else publishedSkip thisSkip1.8/ 10

Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.

The picks in full

No image

#1 — The best-documented fall string

Fall string lights, 10 ft, 20 LED, pumpkins, acorns and leaves

IP44 battery box, 8 modes, 6/18 timer

The pick. It publishes a rating, a timer and a battery spec, which is more than the rest of the category manages together.

Published specifications

Length
10 ft
LEDs
20
Shapes
Pumpkins, acorns, maple leaves
Power
3 AA batteries
Modes
8
Timer
6 hours on, 18 hours off
Weather
IP44 sealed battery compartment

Our scoring

Weather rating
10 / 10
Timer
10 / 10
LED density
5 / 10
Spec completeness
10 / 10

Good

  • An IP44 battery compartment is an actual rating, on the part that usually fails first outdoors
  • Three shapes on one string reads as a fall garland of light rather than a row of dots

Watch out

  • 20 LEDs over 10 ft is sparse on its own — it wants to be wound through greenery
  • Battery power, so a change or two across the season

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FNXBGZP6), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#2 — A door surround or a long mantel

Fall garland lights, 2 pack, 20 ft, 60 LED, timer

2 x 10 ft, 60 LEDs total, timer

The length pick. For anything bigger than a shelf, the matched pair beats two singles.

Published specifications

Strings
2
Total length
20 ft
LEDs
60 total
LEDs per foot
3 (60 over 20 ft — our arithmetic)
Shapes
Enlarged maple leaves, pumpkins
Timer
Yes

Our scoring

Length
10 / 10
Timer
9 / 10
Battery documentation
4 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • Twenty feet in two matched strings covers a mantel swagged or most of a door surround
  • Enlarged leaves read from across a room, where small ones blur

Watch out

  • Two battery boxes to hide
  • Battery spec per string is not published

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09P36Z5CV), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#3 — The densest fall string

Maple leaf string lights, 10 ft, 40 LED

40 LEDs over 10 ft — twice the field

The brightness pick. Pair it with a plug-in timer socket or remember to switch it off.

Published specifications

Length
10 ft
LEDs
40
LEDs per foot
4 (40 over 10 ft — our arithmetic)
Shapes
Maple leaves
Power
Battery
Timer
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

LED density
10 / 10
Look
9 / 10
Timer
1 / 10
Spec completeness
6 / 10

Good

  • Twice the LEDs of the 20-LED strings at the same length — it lights a mantel by itself
  • Maple leaves only, which is the cleanest look on a fall mantel

Watch out

  • No published timer on a battery string
  • More LEDs on the same battery box means shorter battery life

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B01MCZJV4Z), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#4 — An orange glow that carries into Halloween

Fall string lights, 10 ft, 20 LED, orange, timer

Orange light, timer, pumpkins and acorns

Buy it for the color. Orange carries three holidays; warm white carries two.

Published specifications

Length
10 ft
LEDs
20, orange
Shapes
Pumpkins, acorns, maple leaves
Power
Battery
Timer
Yes

Our scoring

Season span
10 / 10
Timer
9 / 10
LED density
5 / 10
Spec completeness
7 / 10

Good

  • Orange light works from late September through Halloween and on to Thanksgiving
  • Published timer

Watch out

  • 20 LEDs over 10 ft is sparse
  • No published weather rating

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FHJXN2G9), verified 2026-09-11.

No image

#5 — skip this

Ivenf maple leaf string lights, 10 ft, 20 LED

20 LED over 10 ft, nothing else published

Our skip. Same string, less said about it.

Published specifications

Length
10 ft
LEDs
20
Shapes
Maple leaves
Timer
Not stated in the listing
Power
Not stated in the listing

Our scoring

Timer
1 / 10
Weather rating
1 / 10
Differentiation
2 / 10
Spec completeness
3 / 10

Good

  • The standard 10 ft, 20 LED maple string

Watch out

  • No timer, no power detail and no weather claim published
  • The first string above is the same length and count with all three

Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08CVBZJNF), verified 2026-09-11.

How we ranked these

Spec completeness first — timer, power and rating — then LED density, then length per purchase. Every figure is one the listing publishes.

Published length, LEDs and controls
StringLengthLEDsPer footTimerRating
Leaf, acorn and pumpkin10 ft2026 on / 18 offIP44 battery box
2 pack2 x 10 ft603YesNot stated
Maple, 40 LED10 ft404Not statedNot stated
Orange pumpkin10 ft202YesNot stated
Ivenf maple10 ft202Not statedNot stated

LEDs per foot is our arithmetic. Only one listing publishes a weather rating.

Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.

Two LEDs per foot is a garland, not a light

The arithmetic

  1. 20 LEDs over 10 ft = 2 per foot
  2. 40 LEDs over 10 ft = 4 per foot
  3. A Halloween string: 100 LEDs over 33 ft = 3 per foot

At 2 per foot a fall string is a decoration that happens to light, not a light source. Wound through a garland it glows; laid bare along a mantel it looks sparse. The 40-LED maple string is the one that works on its own.

That is why these strings are best used together with a fall garland: the garland gives the body, the string gives the glow. The Halloween equivalent is on Halloween string lights.

A long season on batteries

The arithmetic

  1. Late September to Thanksgiving: about 65 evenings
  2. 65 evenings x 6 h timer = 390 hours

A fall string on a 6/18 timer runs about 390 hours across the season — twice a Halloween string's October. No listing publishes battery life, so we print none; plan on rechargeables and several changes.

Warm white or orange

The orange pumpkin string carries three holidays: fall from September, Halloween in October, Thanksgiving in November. Warm white carries fall and Thanksgiving. If you only want to set up once, orange is the more useful color.

Where they go

Mantel garland, door wreath, a window, the Thanksgiving table. The 2 pack gives 20 ft, enough to outline most of a door surround or run a long mantel. The lighting plan for the whole porch is on lighting a fall porch, and the table on Thanksgiving table decorations.

Questions

How many LEDs do fall string lights have?

Most have 20 over 10 ft, 2 per foot. One here has 40, twice the density. At 2 per foot they glow best wound through a garland rather than on their own.

Can fall string lights go outside?

Only one string here publishes a weather rating: an IP44-sealed battery box. Treat the rest as indoor or covered-porch lights.

How long do battery fall lights last?

No listing publishes battery life. On a 6/18 timer from late September to Thanksgiving, a string runs about 390 hours, so plan on several battery changes.

Can fall lights be used for Halloween?

Orange ones, yes — they work from September through Thanksgiving. Warm white leaf lights read as fall rather than Halloween.

Sources

  • Fall string lights listing (ASIN B0FNXBGZP6)10 ft, 20 LED, pumpkins, acorns and maple leaves, 3 AA, 8 modes, 6/18 timer, IP44 battery box
  • Fall garland lights 2 pack listing (ASIN B09P36Z5CV)2 x 10 ft, 60 LED total, enlarged maple leaves, pumpkins, timer
  • Maple leaf string lights listing (ASIN B01MCZJV4Z)10 ft, 40 LEDs, maple leaves, battery
  • Orange pumpkin fall lights listing (ASIN B0FHJXN2G9)10 ft, 20 LED, pumpkins, acorns, maple leaves, orange, timer
  • Ivenf maple leaf string lights listing (ASIN B08CVBZJNF)10 ft, 20 LED, maple leaves
  • Density and season arithmeticOur arithmetic from the published length, LED count and timer

We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.