The best solar lanterns, ranked on what the listing tells you
A solar lantern is meant to look like a candle, not light a yard. The best ones tell you how big, how bright and for how long.
By Sawyer V. · Published

Solar lanterns are atmosphere, not illumination: a flickering glow on a step, a table or a branch that switches itself on at dusk and needs nothing from you. They are the patio equivalent of the fall porch lanterns this site ranks for autumn.
The listings say little, so this page ranks on the few that publish size, brightness, run time or a rating. Five below.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageHanging solar lanterns, 2 pack, IP65, 8 to 12 hoursIP65, 8 to 12 hours, handle and clip | A rated lantern that hangs anywhere | 7.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageSHYMERY solar lanterns, 2 pack, 14 in, 10 lumens, flickering14 in, 10 lm flickering candle | The only published brightness and size | 8.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageSolar lantern, 11 in, vintage, flickering flame11 in vintage lantern, flickering flame | A table lantern | 6.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageTomCare solar lanterns, 2 pack, flickering flameFlickering flame, hanging, 2 pack | A hanging pair | 6.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imagepearlstar solar lanterns, 2 pack, vintage, warmWarm vintage lantern, nothing further publishedSkip this | Skip | 3.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — A rated lantern that hangs anywhere
Hanging solar lanterns, 2 pack, IP65, 8 to 12 hours
IP65, 8 to 12 hours, handle and clip
7.0
/ 10
The pick. It is rated for the weather and tells you how long it will last.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 2
- Weather
- IP65
- Run time
- 8 to 12 hours
- Mounting
- Handle and clip
- Light
- Warm glow
Our scoring
- Weather rating
- 10 / 10
- Published run time
- 9 / 10
- Published size
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- An IP65 rating and a published run time — the two figures that matter on a solar lantern
- A clip as well as a handle, so it fixes to a branch or a rail rather than just hanging
Watch out
- No published size or brightness
- 8 to 12 hours is a summer figure
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CSCZ7RJK), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — The only published brightness and size
SHYMERY solar lanterns, 2 pack, 14 in, 10 lumens, flickering
14 in, 10 lm flickering candle
8.3
/ 10
The candlelight pick. It tells you it is candle-bright, and that is exactly right for a lantern.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 2
- Height
- 14 in
- Brightness
- 10 lm
- Light
- Flickering flameless candle
- Style
- Mission
- Weather
- Waterproof, per the listing
Our scoring
- Published brightness
- 10 / 10
- Published size
- 10 / 10
- Weather rating
- 5 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- A published brightness — 10 lm is roughly the light of a real candle, which is the effect a lantern is for
- 14 in is table-top or step size
Watch out
- "Lasts 3x longer" is a claim with no baseline
- No IP code
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07S8NQF5X), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — A table lantern
Solar lantern, 11 in, vintage, flickering flame
11 in vintage lantern, flickering flame
6.3
/ 10
The table-size pick. Smaller than the SHYMERY, for a centerpiece rather than a step.
Published specifications
- Height
- 11 in
- Style
- Vintage
- Light
- Flickering flame
- Weather
- Waterproof, per the listing
- Pieces
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Published size
- 10 / 10
- Effect
- 8 / 10
- Published run time
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 6 / 10
Good
- A published 11 in size, which suits a patio table or a single step
- Flickering flame reads as a candle at a distance
Watch out
- Piece count not stated in the listing title we verified
- No run time or brightness
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0BPLLQMV5), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — A hanging pair
TomCare solar lanterns, 2 pack, flickering flame
Flickering flame, hanging, 2 pack
6.0
/ 10
A reasonable pair for hanging. The SHYMERY and the IP65 lanterns publish more.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 2
- Light
- Flickering flame
- Mounting
- Hanging
- Weather
- Waterproof, per the listing
- Size
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Pair
- 9 / 10
- Effect
- 8 / 10
- Published specs
- 2 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 5 / 10
Good
- A matched pair for either side of a door or a gate
- Flickering flame
Watch out
- No published size, brightness or run time
- No IP code
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B083K3NM1H), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
pearlstar solar lanterns, 2 pack, vintage, warm
Warm vintage lantern, nothing further published
3.0
/ 10
Our skip. The listing describes a look and nothing else.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 2
- Light
- Warm
- Style
- Vintage
- Size
- Not stated in the listing
- Run time
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Published specs
- 1 / 10
- Weather rating
- 1 / 10
- Pair
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 2 / 10
Good
- A warm-light vintage pair
Watch out
- No size, brightness, run time or rating published
- Nothing to compare it on
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07RPDQPVL), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Published rating and run time first, then brightness and size, then format.
| Lantern | Pieces | Size | Brightness | Run time | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IP65 lantern | 2 | Not stated | Not stated | 8 to 12 h | IP65 |
| SHYMERY | 2 | 14 in | 10 lm | Not stated | Waterproof |
| Vintage 11 in | Not stated | 11 in | Not stated | Not stated | Waterproof |
| TomCare | 2 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Waterproof |
| pearlstar | 2 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
One listing publishes brightness, one publishes run time and an IP code, two publish size.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Ten lumens is a candle
The arithmetic
- A candle flame is about 1 candela
- 1 candela in every direction = 4π lumens, about 12.6 lm
- SHYMERY: 10 lm published
The SHYMERY's 10 lm is close to the light of a real candle — which is exactly the right level for a lantern. It will not light a path; it will look like a lit lantern.
That is why the SHYMERY is worth more than its modest number suggests: it tells you honestly that it is candlelight. For light to walk by, use path lights or post caps — see solar path lights and solar post cap lights.
The rated lantern
The IP65 lantern is the only one here with an actual weather rating and a published run time of 8 to 12 hours. Its clip as well as a handle means it fixes to a rail or a branch rather than just swinging. For a lantern that lives outdoors from May to September, that rating is the thing to pay for.
Step, table or branch
The SHYMERY at 14 in is step-sized; the vintage 11 in is table-sized. The pairs — the IP65 set and the TomCare — suit either side of a door or a gate.
Into fall and back
A flickering lantern is as right on a fall porch as a summer patio. The fall versions, with LED candles, are on outdoor pumpkins and lanterns, and the patio lighting around them on patio umbrella lights and summer porch decor.
Questions
›How bright is a solar lantern?
About candle-level. The one lantern here that publishes brightness rates 10 lumens, close to a real candle’s roughly 12.
›How long do solar lanterns stay lit?
One here publishes 8 to 12 hours after a full charge. That is a summer figure; in shade or short days, expect less.
›Are solar lanterns waterproof?
One here publishes IP65. The others say waterproof with no rating.
›Can solar lanterns light a path?
Not really — they are candle-bright. Use solar path lights or post cap lights for light to walk by.
Sources
- Hanging solar lanterns listing (ASIN B0CSCZ7RJK) — 2 pack, IP65, 8 to 12 h, handle and clip, warm glow
- SHYMERY solar lanterns listing (ASIN B07S8NQF5X) — 2 pack, 14 in, 10 lumens, flickering flameless candle, waterproof
- 11 in solar lantern listing (ASIN B0BPLLQMV5) — 11 in, vintage, flickering flame, waterproof
- TomCare solar lanterns listing (ASIN B083K3NM1H) — 2 pack, flickering flame, waterproof, hanging
- pearlstar solar lanterns listing (ASIN B07RPDQPVL) — 2 pack, warm, vintage
- Candle comparison — 1 candela radiating in all directions = 4π lumens — standard photometric conversion
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.