The best St. Patrick's Day wreaths, sized for the front door
A shamrock wreath is the first door change of spring. Size against the door, lighting and whether it can stay up after March 17 decide which.
By Sawyer V. · Published

After the Christmas wreath comes down, most front doors stay bare until Easter. A St. Patrick’s Day wreath fills March, and the good ones are green enough to carry on as a spring wreath after the 17th.
Most shamrock wreaths on Amazon are smaller than a standard door wants, so size did most of the ranking here. Five below, one to skip.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageSt. Patrick's Day shamrock wreath, 24 in, green hydrangea, glitter clover, bow24 in, green hydrangea, glittery clover, bow | The right size for a standard front door | 6.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageEgolot St. Patrick's Day wreath, 20 in, shamrocks, hydrangeas, welcome sign, plaid bow20 in, shamrocks, hydrangeas, welcome sign, plaid bow | A welcome sign for March | 6.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageSt. Patrick's Day wreath, 22 in, green shamrocks and white hydrangea, LED lights22 in, shamrocks and white hydrangea, LED lights | A lit door in March | 8.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageChambay St Patrick's Day wreath, 20 in, clovers, Milano grass, welcome sign20 in, four-leaf clovers, Milano grass, welcome sign | St. Patrick's Day into spring | 6.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageidyllic St. Patrick's Day wood door wreath, 14 in, shamrock carving, berries, bow14 in wood wreath-sign, shamrock carvingSkip this | Skip | 4.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — The right size for a standard front door
St. Patrick's Day shamrock wreath, 24 in, green hydrangea, glitter clover, bow
24 in, green hydrangea, glittery clover, bow
6.5
/ 10
The pick. The one St. Patrick's wreath here sized for a standard front door.
Published specifications
- Diameter
- 24 in
- Trim
- Green hydrangeas, glittery clovers, bow
- Sold for
- Front door, wall, window, porch, indoor or outdoor
- Lights
- Not stated in the listing
- Hanger
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Door fit
- 10 / 10
- Lighting
- 2 / 10
- Season length
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 6 / 10
Good
- 24 in — the two-thirds size for a 36 in door, and the only 24 in wreath here
- Green hydrangea still reads as spring after March 17
Watch out
- Unlit
- Hanger not mentioned in the listing title
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0G5MHV2F9), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — A welcome sign for March
Egolot St. Patrick's Day wreath, 20 in, shamrocks, hydrangeas, welcome sign, plaid bow
20 in, shamrocks, hydrangeas, welcome sign, plaid bow
6.0
/ 10
Best with a sign: the most finished shamrock wreath here, a size down for a narrow door.
Published specifications
- Diameter
- 20 in
- Trim
- Green hydrangeas, shamrocks, wooden Welcome sign, plaid ribbon bow
- Build
- Handcrafted
- Sold for
- Indoor and outdoor
- Lights
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Door fit
- 7 / 10
- Lighting
- 2 / 10
- Season length
- 7 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- Welcome sign built in
- Handcrafted, sold for indoor or outdoor use
Watch out
- 20 in is 56% of a 36 in door — on the small side for a standard front door
- Unlit
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FZJNTVVZ), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — A lit door in March
St. Patrick's Day wreath, 22 in, green shamrocks and white hydrangea, LED lights
22 in, shamrocks and white hydrangea, LED lights
8.3
/ 10
Best lit: a shamrock wreath that still shows after dark in March.
Published specifications
- Diameter
- 22 in
- Trim
- Green shamrocks, white hydrangeas
- Lights
- LED
- Sold for
- Wall, window, porch, door
- Power and timer
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Door fit
- 9 / 10
- Lighting
- 10 / 10
- Season length
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 6 / 10
Good
- LED lights — the only lit wreath here
- 22 in, close to the two-thirds size for a standard door
Watch out
- Power source and timer not stated
- Hanger not mentioned in the listing title
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0G57XKMHT), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — St. Patrick's Day into spring
Chambay St Patrick's Day wreath, 20 in, clovers, Milano grass, welcome sign
20 in, four-leaf clovers, Milano grass, welcome sign
6.3
/ 10
Best for the long haul: a clover wreath that reads as spring green once the parade is over.
Published specifications
- Diameter
- 20 in
- Trim
- Four-leaf clovers, Milano grass, wooden welcome sign
- Material
- Plastic, lightweight
- Sold for
- St. Patrick's Day and spring
- Lights
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Door fit
- 7 / 10
- Lighting
- 2 / 10
- Season length
- 9 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Sold as a spring green clover wreath, so it can stay up after March 17
- Lightweight plastic, easy on a door hook
Watch out
- 20 in — small on a standard 36 in door
- Unlit
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CPJ7P91R), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
idyllic St. Patrick's Day wood door wreath, 14 in, shamrock carving, berries, bow
14 in wood wreath-sign, shamrock carving
4.5
/ 10
Skip for the front door. Hang it on an inside door or a small cottage door; on a standard door it disappears.
Published specifications
- Diameter
- 14 in
- Material
- Wood, shamrock carving
- Trim
- Leaves, berries, bow
- Sold for
- Indoor and outdoor
- Lights
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Door fit
- 3 / 10
- Lighting
- 2 / 10
- Season length
- 6 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Carved wood rather than foam or plastic
- Welcome sign and wreath in one
Watch out
- 14 in is 39% of a 36 in door — a storm-door or interior-door size
- Unlit
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0DMF1277Z), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Door fit first, against the two-thirds rule for a 36 in door. Then lighting, then whether the listing sells it for spring as well as March 17.
| Wreath | Diameter | Share of door | Lights | Trim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24 in wreath | 24 in | 67% | Not stated | Hydrangea, glitter clover, bow |
| Egolot | 20 in | 56% | Not stated | Hydrangea, shamrocks, welcome sign |
| 22 in LED | 22 in | 61% | LED | Shamrocks, white hydrangea |
| Chambay | 20 in | 56% | Not stated | Clovers, Milano grass, welcome sign |
| idyllic | 14 in | 39% | Not stated | Carved wood, berries, bow |
Share of door is diameter divided by 36 in, our arithmetic. The two-thirds rule puts a standard door's wreath at 24 in, or 67%.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Most shamrock wreaths run small
The arithmetic
- Standard front door: 36 in wide
- Two-thirds rule: 36 x 2/3 = 24 in
- 20 in wreath: 24 - 20 = 4 in short
- 14 in wreath: 24 - 14 = 10 in short
- A 30 in door: 30 x 2/3 = 20 in
Only one wreath here hits 24 in. The 20 in wreaths are exactly right on a narrower 30 in door, and the 14 in wood wreath belongs on a storm door or an inside door.
Every door width and its wreath size is on the wreath size guide.
A lit door in March
The 22 in LED wreath is the only lit one here, which keeps the door readable after dark the way a Christmas wreath does. At 22 in it is also close to the two-thirds size. The listing does not state how it is powered or whether it has a timer.
After March 17
The arithmetic
- Up March 1, holiday March 17: 17 days as a St. Patrick's wreath
- Carried on as a spring green wreath to April 30: 61 days
- 61 / 17 = 3.6
A wreath that also reads as spring earns its hook for about 3.6 times as long as one that only says St. Patrick's Day. The Chambay is sold as a spring green clover wreath, and green hydrangea wreaths carry on the same way.
When the green comes down, the spring wreaths take over.
Welcome signs
Two of the wreaths, the Egolot and the Chambay, carry a wooden welcome sign. On a small wreath that does two jobs: it adds visual weight, and it reads from the walk. On a 30 in door either one is a complete look.
Why the 14 in wood wreath is the skip
At 39% of a standard door, the idyllic wood wreath disappears on a front door. It is well made — carved wood rather than foam — so hang it on an inside door or a small cottage door instead.
The rest of spring
The next steps are on the spring porch refresh and outdoor Easter decorations. A green garden flag carries the St. Patrick’s color out to the yard.
Questions
›What size St. Patrick's Day wreath for a front door?
24 in for a standard 36 in door, by the two-thirds rule. Most shamrock wreaths are 20 in, which suits a 30 in door.
›When should a St. Patrick's Day wreath go up?
Any time in early March; the holiday is March 17. A green clover or hydrangea wreath can stay up afterward as a spring wreath.
›Are there lighted St. Patrick's Day wreaths?
Yes. The 22 in shamrock and hydrangea wreath here has LED lights; the listing does not state the power source.
›Can a St. Patrick's Day wreath go outside?
The 24 in wreath, the Egolot and the idyllic are sold for indoor or outdoor use. Keep any artificial wreath out of all-day sun.
Sources
- 24 in shamrock wreath listing (ASIN B0G5MHV2F9) — 24 in, shamrocks, bow, green hydrangea, glittery clover, indoor and outdoor
- Egolot shamrock wreath listing (ASIN B0FZJNTVVZ) — 20 in, green hydrangeas, shamrocks, wooden Welcome sign, plaid ribbon bow, handcrafted, indoor and outdoor
- 22 in LED shamrock wreath listing (ASIN B0G57XKMHT) — 22 in, green shamrocks and white hydrangea, LED lights
- Chambay shamrock wreath listing (ASIN B0CPJ7P91R) — 20 in, four-leaf clovers, Milano grass, wooden welcome sign, lightweight plastic, spring green clover wreath
- idyllic wood door wreath listing (ASIN B0DMF1277Z) — 14 in, wood, shamrock carving, leaves, berries, bow, indoor and outdoor
- Door and season arithmetic — Diameter against a 36 in door and the two-thirds rule; March 1 to April 30 — our arithmetic
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.