The best battery fairy lights, for everything that is not the tree
Wreaths, garland, jars and centerpieces all want light and none has an outlet. Length, timer and wire color decide which string suits which job.
By Sawyer V. · Published

Fairy lights — tiny LEDs on thin, bendable wire, powered by a battery pack — are how everything that is not the tree gets lit: the wreath on the door, the garland on the mantel, the centerpiece, a jar on a shelf. None of those has an outlet nearby.
They come in multipacks and look identical. Length, timer and wire color are the differences. Five packs below.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageinnotree battery fairy lights, 6 pack, 10 ft, 30 LED, timer6 x 10 ft, 30 LEDs each, timer | The longest string per pack | 7.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageFairy lights, 6 pack, 6.5 ft, 20 LED, timer and 2 remotes2 remotes, 6-hour timer, batteries installed | Controlling six strings at once | 9.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageMinetom fairy lights, 6 pack, 7 ft, 20 LED, silver wire7 ft, 20 LED, waterproof silver wire | Silver wire that disappears | 6.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageFairy lights, 10 pack, 7 ft, 20 LED, timer, multicolor10 strings with timers | The most strings | 8.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageLIGHTOP fairy lights, 6 pack, 6.6 ft, 20 LED, copper wireSold as indoor and waterproof; no timer publishedSkip this | Skip | 3.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — The longest string per pack
innotree battery fairy lights, 6 pack, 10 ft, 30 LED, timer
6 x 10 ft, 30 LEDs each, timer
7.8
/ 10
The pick. The extra length is what lets one string do a whole wreath or mantel section.
Published specifications
- Strings
- 6
- Length
- 10 ft each, 60 ft total
- LEDs
- 30 per string
- LEDs per foot
- 3 (30 over 10 ft — our arithmetic)
- Wire
- Copper
- Timer
- Yes
- Color
- Warm white
Our scoring
- Length
- 10 / 10
- Timer
- 10 / 10
- Battery documentation
- 3 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- 10 ft strings wrap a wreath and a garland where 6.5 ft strings run short
- A timer on every string
Watch out
- Battery type and life not published
- Copper wire shows on white or silver surfaces
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08FY5C5S5), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — Controlling six strings at once
Fairy lights, 6 pack, 6.5 ft, 20 LED, timer and 2 remotes
2 remotes, 6-hour timer, batteries installed
9.0
/ 10
The control pick. For a dinner table or a mantel with several strings, the remotes are the feature.
Published specifications
- Strings
- 6
- Length
- 6.5 ft each
- LEDs
- 20 per string, warm white
- Control
- 2 remotes
- Timer
- 6 hours on, then off
- Batteries
- CR2032, pre-installed
- Wire
- Silver, waterproof
Our scoring
- Controls
- 10 / 10
- Battery documentation
- 10 / 10
- Length
- 6 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 10 / 10
Good
- Two remotes switch every string in a room at once — table, mantel, shelves
- Batteries installed and the type published, so you know what to replace
Watch out
- 6.5 ft wraps a 24 in wreath about once
- Coin cells are small; expect frequent changes
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07QC65SZP), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — Silver wire that disappears
Minetom fairy lights, 6 pack, 7 ft, 20 LED, silver wire
7 ft, 20 LED, waterproof silver wire
6.3
/ 10
Buy it for jars, vases and flocked wreaths, where copper or green wire would show.
Published specifications
- Strings
- 6
- Length
- 7 ft each
- LEDs
- 20 per string
- Wire
- Silver, waterproof
- Timer
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Wire visibility
- 10 / 10
- Weather claim
- 8 / 10
- Timer
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 6 / 10
Good
- Silver wire vanishes against glass, flocked greenery and white surfaces
- Waterproof, per the listing
Watch out
- No published timer
- No battery detail
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CSFYG1RD), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — The most strings
Fairy lights, 10 pack, 7 ft, 20 LED, timer, multicolor
10 strings with timers
8.5
/ 10
The volume pick for a lot of small pieces.
Published specifications
- Strings
- 10
- Length
- 7 ft each, 70 ft total
- LEDs
- 20 per string
- Timer
- Yes
- Wire
- Silver, waterproof
- Color
- Multicolor
Our scoring
- Strings per pack
- 10 / 10
- Timer
- 10 / 10
- Color
- 6 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- Ten strings is enough for every jar, lantern and centerpiece in a house
- Timers on every string
Watch out
- Multicolor, which suits a playful table rather than a formal one
- No battery detail
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0D7CWXBH9), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
LIGHTOP fairy lights, 6 pack, 6.6 ft, 20 LED, copper wire
Sold as indoor and waterproof; no timer published
3.5
/ 10
Our skip. The strings above publish timers and clearer use.
Published specifications
- Strings
- 6
- Length
- 6.6 ft each
- LEDs
- 20 per string, warm white
- Wire
- Copper
- Use
- Indoor, described as waterproof
- Timer
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Timer
- 1 / 10
- Clarity of use
- 3 / 10
- Length
- 6 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 4 / 10
Good
- The standard 20-LED copper fairy string
Watch out
- No published timer on a coin-cell string
- Described as both indoor and waterproof, which leaves outdoor use unclear
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B094MN8J6V), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Length per string and timer first, then controls and wire. Every figure is one the listing publishes.
| Pack | Strings | Length each | LEDs each | Timer | Wire |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| innotree | 6 | 10 ft | 30 | Yes | Copper |
| OakHaomie | 6 | 6.5 ft | 20 | 6 h, + 2 remotes | Silver |
| Minetom | 6 | 7 ft | 20 | Not stated | Silver |
| 10 pack, multi | 10 | 7 ft | 20 | Yes | Silver |
| LIGHTOP | 6 | 6.6 ft | 20 | Not stated | Copper |
About 3 LEDs per foot on every string here. Length per string is what differs.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Will one string wrap a wreath?
The arithmetic
- 24 in wreath: circumference = 3.14 x 24 = 75 in = 6.3 ft
- 6.5 ft string: one turn around the wreath, with nothing to spare
- 10 ft string: about 1.6 turns
- A 9 ft garland: one 10 ft string runs its full length
A 6.5 ft string just goes once round a 24 in wreath. A 10 ft string wraps it with room to weave in and out, or runs a whole 9 ft garland — which is why the innotree leads.
The wreath sizes are on the best artificial wreaths, and garland lengths on Christmas garland.
Timer and remote
Coin-cell fairy lights last far longer on a timer than left on. The OakHaomie publishes a 6-hour timer, CR2032 cells pre-installed and two remotes, which switch every string on a table or mantel at once. The innotree and the 10 pack also publish timers.
Silver, copper or the jar
Silver wire disappears against glass, white and flocked greenery; copper suits warm wood and green garland. The Minetom strings are silver, for jars and flocked wreaths. Tuck the battery pack behind the wreath or under the centerpiece; the centerpiece sizing is on Christmas table centerpieces.
Not for the tree
At about 3 LEDs per foot on 10 ft of wire, fairy lights are too sparse and too short for a full tree — that job belongs to 500-LED plug-in strings, on the best Christmas tree lights. The wider battery-versus-plug decision is on battery vs plug-in decorations.
Questions
›How long a fairy light string for a wreath?
A 24 in wreath is about 6.3 ft around, so a 6.5 ft string goes round once. A 10 ft string wraps it with room to weave through the branches.
›What batteries do fairy lights use?
Most use CR2032 coin cells; one pack here publishes them pre-installed. Coin cells are small, so use the timer.
›Can battery fairy lights go outside?
Several here describe their wire as waterproof. Keep the battery pack sheltered — tucked behind a wreath, under a porch roof.
›Can you use fairy lights on a Christmas tree?
Only a small one. At about 3 LEDs per foot they are too sparse for a full tree, which wants 500-LED plug-in strings.
Sources
- innotree fairy lights listing (ASIN B08FY5C5S5) — 6 pack, 10 ft, 30 LEDs each, battery, timer, copper wire, warm white
- OakHaomie fairy lights listing (ASIN B07QC65SZP) — 6 pack, 6.5 ft, 20 LED, warm white, 6-hour timer, 2 remotes, CR2032 pre-installed, silver wire
- Minetom fairy lights listing (ASIN B0CSFYG1RD) — 6 pack, 7 ft, 20 LED, waterproof silver wire
- 10 pack fairy lights listing (ASIN B0D7CWXBH9) — 10 pack, 7 ft, 20 LED, timer, silver wire, multicolor
- LIGHTOP fairy lights listing (ASIN B094MN8J6V) — 6 pack, 6.6 ft, 20 LED, copper wire, warm white
- Wreath-wrap arithmetic — Circumference = π x diameter — our arithmetic against a 24 in wreath
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.