The best Christmas table centerpieces, sized to the table they go on
Six inches tall and half the table long. Two numbers decide whether a centerpiece works, and most listings publish both.
By Sawyer V. · Published

A centerpiece is the one holiday decoration people sit around for three hours, which makes it the one where getting the dimensions wrong is unavoidable rather than merely visible. Too tall and nobody can see across the table. Too long and there is nowhere to put the potatoes.
The good news is that this is the rare category where almost every listing publishes real dimensions. Five arrangements below, ranked on length, height and what actually comes in the box.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageTURNMEON centerpiece, 30 in, 58 branches58 branches, 6 berry stems, 4 pine cones, 3 holders | The most published detail in the category | 7.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageUnion Tree centerpiece, 28 in, 3 LED candles3 flameless LED candles in the box | The only one that includes its candles | 8.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageGold glittery centerpiece, 27.5 in, cedar and pine27.5 x 12 x 6 in, cedar and pine with gold berries | A metallic palette rather than a red one | 7.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageDearHouse centerpiece, 20 in20 x 10 x 6 in — the smallest here | Small and round tables | 8.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageChristmas centerpiece, 31.5 in, steel base31.5 in long, no published width or heightSkip this | Skip | 5.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — The most published detail in the category
TURNMEON centerpiece, 30 in, 58 branches
58 branches, 6 berry stems, 4 pine cones, 3 holders
7.8
/ 10
The pick. It publishes a branch count and a holder diameter, which between them answer the only two questions this product raises.
Published specifications
- Length
- 30 in
- Width
- 12 in
- Branches
- 58
- Berry branches
- 6
- Pine cones
- 4
- Candle holders
- 3, metal
- Holder diameter
- 2.1 in
- Candles included
- No
Our scoring
- Published foliage count
- 10 / 10
- Holder specification
- 10 / 10
- Included candles
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 10 / 10
Good
- 58 branches is the only foliage count published in this category, and it is what separates a full arrangement from a sparse one
- A published 2.1 in holder diameter tells you which candles fit before you buy them
Watch out
- Candles are not included, and at 2.1 in you need pillars rather than tapers
- 30 by 12 in is a large object on a table that also has to hold food
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0D8B8YDSK), verified 2026-09-10.
#2 — The only one that includes its candles
Union Tree centerpiece, 28 in, 3 LED candles
3 flameless LED candles in the box
8.5
/ 10
The practical pick for a table people actually eat at. Flame-free, sightline-safe, and it works out of the box.
Published specifications
- Length
- 28 in
- Width
- 10 in
- Height
- 6 in
- Candles
- 3 flameless LED, included
- Power
- 3 AAA batteries
- Trays
- 3 metal, with natural pine cones
Our scoring
- Included candles
- 10 / 10
- Published dimensions
- 10 / 10
- Realism at close range
- 4 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 10 / 10
Good
- Flameless candles included means no open flame on a table of paper napkins and no separate purchase
- Full published dimensions in all three axes, and 6 in of height keeps sightlines across the table clear
Watch out
- LED candles never look like candles at close range, and a dinner table is close range
- Three AAA cells running three candles is a short evening
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CBJW3FSX), verified 2026-09-10.
#3 — A metallic palette rather than a red one
Gold glittery centerpiece, 27.5 in, cedar and pine
27.5 x 12 x 6 in, cedar and pine with gold berries
7.5
/ 10
The palette pick. If the room is warm metallics rather than traditional red, this is the arrangement that fits it.
Published specifications
- Length
- 27.5 in
- Width
- 12 in
- Height
- 6 in
- Greenery
- Cedar branches and pine needles
- Trim
- Pine cones, glittered golden berries, baubles
- Candle holders
- 3
- Candles included
- No
Our scoring
- Palette range
- 10 / 10
- Published dimensions
- 10 / 10
- Published foliage count
- 2 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- Gold and cedar is the one palette here that is not red-and-green, and it carries into a New Year table
- Two greenery types rather than one gives it more visual texture than a single-pine arrangement
Watch out
- Glitter sheds onto a tablecloth, and there is no polite way around that
- No branch count published, so it cannot be compared on density
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09WY5P4HY), verified 2026-09-10.
#4 — Small and round tables
DearHouse centerpiece, 20 in
20 x 10 x 6 in — the smallest here
8.3
/ 10
The size pick for a small or round table. Everything else here is built for a long rectangular one.
Published specifications
- Length
- 20 in
- Width
- 10 in
- Height
- 6 in
- Candle holders
- 3
- Trim
- Red and green ornaments, berries, pine cones, pine needles
- State
- Pre-trimmed
- Candles included
- No
Our scoring
- Fit for small tables
- 10 / 10
- Published dimensions
- 10 / 10
- Presence on a large table
- 4 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 9 / 10
Good
- At 20 in it leaves room for serving dishes on a table where the 30 in arrangements do not
- The only one here that suits a round table, where a 30 in bar looks wrong at any orientation
Watch out
- On an eight-seat table it reads as under-scaled
- Pre-trimmed in red and green, so the palette is decided for you
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08HS1YYNT), verified 2026-09-10.
#5 — skip this
Christmas centerpiece, 31.5 in, steel base
31.5 in long, no published width or height
5.5
/ 10
Our skip, on the missing height. Every other arrangement here publishes 6 in and clears sightlines; this one asks you to find out.
Published specifications
- Length
- 31.5 in
- Candle holders
- 3
- Base
- Steel
- Trim
- Large pine cones, artificial green branches, non-shedding berries
- Width
- Not stated in the listing
- Height
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Published length
- 9 / 10
- Published height
- 1 / 10
- Material claims
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 4 / 10
Good
- Non-shedding berries and a steel base are both real, useful claims on a product that lives on a dining table
- The longest arrangement here, which suits a genuinely long table
Watch out
- No published height on a centerpiece, where height is what determines whether guests can see each other across it
- 31.5 in is more than half the length of a standard six-seat table
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0D5B61VHZ), verified 2026-09-10.
How we ranked these
Published dimensions first, then what is included, then the foliage detail where any listing bothers to publish it. Everything below is a figure the listing prints.
| Centerpiece | Length | Width | Height | Holders | Candles included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TURNMEON | 30 in | 12 in | Not stated | 3, 2.1 in dia | No |
| Union Tree | 28 in | 10 in | 6 in | 3 trays | 3 LED |
| Gold glittery | 27.5 in | 12 in | 6 in | 3 | No |
| DearHouse | 20 in | 10 in | 6 in | 3 | No |
| 31.5 in, steel base | 31.5 in | Not stated | Not stated | 3 | No |
Three of five publish all three dimensions. Six inches of height is the category standard and it is the figure that keeps sightlines across the table clear.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Sizing the length to the table
The working rule is half the table length, and it is a rule about place settings rather than about looks: what you are protecting is the space at either end where the serving dishes go.
The arithmetic
- Standard 6-seat rectangular table: about 60 in long
- Half of 60 = 30 in of centerpiece
- 60 - 30 = 30 in left, or 15 in at each end
- 8-seat table at 72 in: half = 36 in, and nothing here is that long
On a six-seat table a 30 in centerpiece is the maximum. On a small four-seat or round table, the 20 in arrangement is the only one that leaves usable surface.
That is why the field clusters between 27.5 and 31.5 inches: it is built for the six-seat table almost everyone has. If yours is a four-seat, a round table or a console, the 20 in DearHouse arrangement is the one that fits and the rest are all too long.
Six inches, and why every one of them is six inches
Three listings here publish a height and all three publish 6 in. That is not a coincidence — it is the ceiling at which people seated opposite each other can still make eye contact over the arrangement.
Which makes the two that publish no height the two to be careful with. A centerpiece that turns out to be nine inches tall with a candle on top is a centerpiece everybody spends dinner leaning around, and it is the single most common failure in this category.
Open flame on an artificial arrangement
Say this plainly. These arrangements are artificial PVC foliage with glitter, ribbon and plastic berries on them, and a lit candle sits in the middle of that. Manufacturers do not publish a flame-retardancy rating and neither will we invent one.
If you use real candles, use pillars in the supplied holders rather than tapers, keep the foliage pushed back from the flame, and do not leave the table with them lit. If any of that sounds like more attention than a dinner party allows, the LED option is the correct one and the only reason not to choose it is that LED candles do not look like candles at close range.
One published branch count in the whole category
The TURNMEON arrangement publishes 58 branches, 6 berry stems and 4 pine cones. Nothing else here publishes a foliage count at all, which means fullness is judged from a photograph everywhere else.
It is the same problem as every other greenery product on this site, and the same answer: where a count exists, use it. The garland version of this argument, with the tips-per-foot bands, is on Christmas garland.
Match the table, not the tree
A centerpiece sits eighteen inches from a person’s face under warm indoor light. That is a completely different viewing condition from a tree across a room, and a red-and-green arrangement that looks right beside the tree can look loud on a laid table with white china on it.
The gold and cedar arrangement is the one here that reads as tableware rather than as Christmas decoration, and it carries through to New Year. Whichever way you go, keep the candle color temperature warm — the reasoning is on warm white vs cool white.
The same arrangement on a mantel or a console
A 28 to 30 inch horizontal arrangement is exactly the right proportion for a standard mantel shelf, and on a mantel the sightline constraint disappears entirely — height becomes an asset rather than a problem.
If your table is small and your mantel is not, buy for the mantel. The proportions are on mantel decorating, and the window-ledge version on window candles.
Storing an arrangement that cannot be compressed
A centerpiece is rigid, wired and about 30 by 12 inches, which makes it one of the more awkward objects in the whole decoration inventory. It cannot be folded and it must not be stacked under anything.
Give it a flat layer in a shallow bin of its own with the candles removed, and store it the way you store a wreath rather than the way you store lights — garland and greenery storage covers the method, and bins vs bags vs totes the container.
Questions
›How long should a Christmas centerpiece be?
About half the table length, which protects the space at each end for serving dishes. On a standard 60 in six-seat table that is a 30 in centerpiece. On a small or round table, 20 in is the size that leaves usable surface.
›How tall should a table centerpiece be?
Around 6 inches, which is what every listing here that publishes a height publishes. Above that, people seated opposite each other cannot see over it, and a centerpiece everyone leans around has failed at its only job.
›Do Christmas centerpieces come with candles?
Usually not — four of the five here ship without. One includes three flameless LED candles. If you are buying candles separately, check the published holder diameter: 2.1 in takes a pillar, not a taper.
›Is it safe to burn candles in an artificial centerpiece?
No manufacturer publishes a flame-retardancy rating for these, so treat them as what they are: PVC foliage with glitter and ribbon around an open flame. Use pillars in the supplied holders, keep foliage clear of the flame, and never leave the table with them lit. LED candles remove the question entirely.
Sources
- TURNMEON 30 in centerpiece listing (ASIN B0D8B8YDSK) — 30 in long, 12 in wide, 58 branches, 6 red berry branches, 4 pine cones, 3 metal candle holders at 2.1 in diameter
- Union Tree 28 in centerpiece listing (ASIN B0CBJW3FSX) — 28 x 10 x 6 in, 3 flameless LED candles included, 3 AAA batteries, 3 metal trays with pine cones
- Gold glittery centerpiece listing (ASIN B09WY5P4HY) — 27.5 x 12 x 6 in, cedar branches, pine needles, pine cones, glittered golden berries, baubles, 3 candle holders
- DearHouse centerpiece listing (ASIN B08HS1YYNT) — 20 x 10 x 6 in, 3 candle holders, pre-trimmed with red and green ornaments, berries, pine cones
- 31.5 in centerpiece listing (ASIN B0D5B61VHZ) — 31.5 in, 3 candle holders, steel base, large pine cones, non-shedding berries
- Table sizing arithmetic — Our arithmetic against a standard 60 in six-seat table and a 72 in eight-seat table
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.