Skip to content
Wreath & WattWreath & Watt home

The best artificial Christmas wreaths, compared at the same diameter

Five 24-inch wreaths, ranked on published tip count. Same diameter, and nearly double the density between the best and the worst.

By Sawyer V. · Published

An evergreen wreath hanging on a wooden front door

Every wreath on this page is 24 inches across. That is deliberate: holding the diameter constant is the only way to see what actually differs, and what differs is density. The densest wreath here carries 160 branch tips. The sparsest carries 88. Same diameter, same price bracket, nearly double the foliage.

Tip count is published for four of the five. It is the number to buy on.

Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1No imageNational Tree Company Crestwood Spruce wreath, 24 in, pre-lit160 tips, 50 warm white LEDs, built-in timerThe densest published tip count at 24 in8.5/ 10
2No imageNational Tree Company Wintry Pine flocked wreath, 24 in, pre-lit113 tips, 50 clear LEDs, flockedA flocked look with the numbers published8.0/ 10
3No imageNational Tree Company Norwood Fir wreath, 24 in, multicolor24 in, over 100 tips, multicolor, battery operatedMulticolor without a cord down the door6.3/ 10
4No imageBattery pre-lit wreath, 24 in, 50 LED24 in, 50 LED, batteryA second door or a window5.0/ 10
5No imageNational Tree Company Decorative Collection wreath, 24 in, pre-lit88 tips, 50 clear LEDsSkip thisA lighter, more open wreath8.0/ 10

Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.

The picks in full

No image

#1 — The densest published tip count at 24 in

National Tree Company Crestwood Spruce wreath, 24 in, pre-lit

160 tips, 50 warm white LEDs, built-in timer

Our top 24-inch wreath. Dense, warm-white, timed — and then measure it across the berries before you buy the box.

Published specifications

Diameter
24 in
Branch tips
160
Lights
50 warm white LED
Timer
Built in
Trim
Glitter, pinecones, red berries
Depth with trim
Not published by the manufacturer

Our scoring

Published tip count
9 / 10
Light quality
9 / 10
Convenience
9 / 10
Spec completeness
7 / 10

Good

  • 160 tips on a 24-inch frame is dense enough that the wire ring does not show
  • A built-in timer on a battery wreath is the difference between using it and forgetting it
  • Warm white LED reads correctly against a painted door; cool white does not

Watch out

  • Trim adds depth that no listing publishes, and that depth is what decides your storage box size

Tip count, lighting and timer from the Amazon listing (ASIN B00LKRMNWK), retrieved 2026-09-04.

No image

#2 — A flocked look with the numbers published

National Tree Company Wintry Pine flocked wreath, 24 in, pre-lit

113 tips, 50 clear LEDs, flocked

Buy it for the flocked look with your eyes open: it is a third less dense than our top pick, and it will shed into the box.

Published specifications

Diameter
24 in
Branch tips
113
Lights
50 clear LED
Timer
Built in
Trim
Pinecones, red berries, flocking

Our scoring

Published tip count
8 / 10
Light quality
7 / 10
Convenience
9 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • Flocking reads well against a dark door where plain green disappears
  • Tip count published, which flocked wreaths often skip

Watch out

  • 113 tips is materially sparser than the Crestwood's 160 at the same diameter
  • Flocking sheds, and it sheds worst in storage

Tip count and lighting from the Amazon listing (ASIN B00EJ2DAX4), retrieved 2026-09-04.

No image

#3 — Multicolor without a cord down the door

National Tree Company Norwood Fir wreath, 24 in, multicolor

24 in, over 100 tips, multicolor, battery operated

The multicolor option. Its tip count is a range rather than a number, which is why it is not the top pick.

Published specifications

Diameter
24 in
Branch tips
Over 100 (manufacturer's wording)
Lights
Multicolor, battery operated

Our scoring

Published tip count
5 / 10
Light quality
7 / 10
Convenience
8 / 10
Spec completeness
5 / 10

Good

  • Battery operation means no cord taped across a front door

Watch out

  • Tip count is given as 'over one hundred' rather than a figure, so it cannot be compared precisely
  • Battery wreaths need the batteries changed mid-season

Description from the Amazon listing (ASIN B00LKRMCNU), retrieved 2026-09-04.

No image

#4 — A second door or a window

Battery pre-lit wreath, 24 in, 50 LED

24 in, 50 LED, battery

The budget second wreath. No tip count published, so expect a visible frame.

Published specifications

Diameter
24 in
Lights
50 LED, battery operated
Branch tips
Not published by the manufacturer

Our scoring

Published tip count
2 / 10
Light quality
6 / 10
Convenience
8 / 10
Spec completeness
4 / 10

Good

  • Cheap enough to put one on a back door or a window as well

Watch out

  • No published tip count at all

Description from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0D9B7G1ZM), retrieved 2026-09-04.

No image

#5 — skip this

National Tree Company Decorative Collection wreath, 24 in, pre-lit

88 tips, 50 clear LEDs

Skip this if fullness matters to you. At 88 tips it is nearly half the density of the Crestwood for the same diameter.

Published specifications

Diameter
24 in
Branch tips
88
Lights
50 clear LED
Timer
Built in

Our scoring

Published tip count
8 / 10
Light quality
7 / 10
Convenience
9 / 10
Spec completeness
8 / 10

Good

  • Lighter on the hook, which matters on a storm door
  • Tip count published

Watch out

  • 88 tips is the sparsest 24-inch wreath here — the frame will show in daylight

Tip count from the Amazon listing (ASIN B00MVAGRYU), retrieved 2026-09-04.

Tip count at 24 inches

All five wreaths at 24 in diameter
WreathTipsLightsTimerTrim
National Crestwood Spruce16050 warm white LEDYesGlitter, pinecones, red berries
National Wintry Pine flocked11350 clear LEDYesPinecones, berries, flocking
National Norwood FirOver 100 (not a figure)Multicolor, batteryNot statedPlain
National Decorative Collection8850 clear LEDYesPlain
Battery pre-lit 24 inNot published50 LED, batteryNot statedPlain

"Over 100" is the manufacturer’s own wording rather than a figure, so that wreath cannot be placed precisely against the others.

Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, retrieved 2026-09-04.

The arithmetic

  1. Crestwood: 160 tips on a 24 in ring
  2. Decorative Collection: 88 tips on the same 24 in ring
  3. 160 / 88 = 1.8
  4. The denser wreath carries 82 percent more foliage on the same frame

At the same diameter, tip count is the difference between a wreath that hides its frame and one that does not.

A sparse wreath shows the wire ring in daylight, and a front door is looked at in daylight far more than it is looked at lit. That is why the 88-tip wreath is our skip pick despite being competently made and correctly described.

Warm white beats clear on a door

Two of these use warm white LEDs and two use clear. On a wreath the difference is more visible than it is on a roofline, because you see it at close range against a painted surface and against green foliage. Warm white flatters both. Cool or neutral white flattens the green and makes plastic foliage read as plastic.

Full reasoning in warm white vs cool white.

Battery, and why a timer matters more than it sounds

Almost every pre-lit wreath is battery operated, because running a cord to a front door is awkward and looks bad. That makes the built-in timer the difference between a wreath that is lit every evening and one that is dark because nobody walked out to switch it on.

Three of the wreaths here publish a timer. It is worth insisting on. Budget for fresh batteries at the start of December, and take them out before the wreath goes into storage — a leaking cell in a sealed box for eleven months is how a good wreath is lost.

Trim is depth, and depth is a storage problem

The Crestwood carries glitter, pinecones and berry clusters, all of which sit proud of the foliage. That trim is what makes it look expensive on a door and it is also what makes it deeper than the plain wreaths, which matters in exactly one place: the box.

None of these listings publishes a depth. Measure the wreath lying flat, from the table to the highest point, before you buy a container — a 7-inch-deep box will crush a wreath with a wired bow. The chart is in wreath storage containers.

Hanging it so it survives the season

A wreath on a storm door takes a slam several times a day for six weeks. Two things help: an over-the-door hanger sized to the door’s actual thickness so it does not rock, and a length of clear fishing line tying the bottom of the wreath loosely to the hanger so it cannot swing. Neither is visible and together they stop the wreath drifting sideways by mid-December.

Questions

What size wreath do I need for a 36-inch front door?

A 24-inch wreath, which is roughly two thirds of the door width. That proportion reads as deliberate; smaller reads as an accident.

How many branch tips should a 24-inch wreath have?

The wreaths here run from 88 to 160 tips at the same diameter. Above about 150 the frame is hidden in daylight; below about 100 it is visible.

Should a Christmas wreath have warm white or clear lights?

Warm white, on a door. You see a wreath at close range against paint and greenery, and warm white flatters both while cooler whites flatten the foliage.

Sources

  • National Tree Company Crestwood Spruce listing (ASIN B00LKRMNWK)24 in, 160 tips, 50 warm white LED, timer
  • National Tree Company Wintry Pine listing (ASIN B00EJ2DAX4)24 in, 113 tips, 50 clear LED, timer, flocked
  • National Tree Company Norwood Fir listing (ASIN B00LKRMCNU)24 in, over one hundred tips, multicolor, battery
  • National Tree Company Decorative Collection listing (ASIN B00MVAGRYU)24 in, 88 tips, 50 clear LED, timer
  • Battery pre-lit wreath listing (ASIN B0D9B7G1ZM)24 in, 50 LED, battery; no tip count published

We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.