The best extension cord reels, for the cords every display runs on
Every holiday display ends in a tangle of outdoor cords. A reel stores them — or replaces one with a heavy cord that winds itself away.
By Sawyer V. · Published

A holiday display runs on outdoor extension cords, and in January those cords come back in as a knot. Coiled loosely in a tote, they tangle with the light strings and kink; next November, untangling them is the first hour of the job.
Two kinds of reel solve it: a storage reel for the cords you already own, and a retractable reel that is a heavy cord and a reel in one. Five below.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageBayco K-100 cord storage reel with stand, holds 150 ft of 16/3Holds up to 150 ft of 16/3 cord, freestanding | Storing your own holiday cords | 7.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageVEVOR retractable cord reel, 100 ft, 12 AWG SJTOW, 4 outlets100 ft of 12 AWG SJTOW, breaker, 4 outlets | A heavy cord that stores itself | 7.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageEP extension cord storage reel, 4 grounded outlets, hand crankTakes 12/3, 14/3 and 16/3 cords; 4 outlets on the reel | Storing a cord and powering from the reel | 7.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageBayco KW-110 cord reel, center spin handle, 100 ft of 16/3Center spin handle, 100 ft of 16/3, thermoplastic | Fast winding | 8.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageCRAFTSMAN retractable cord reel, 100 ft, 14 AWG, 4 outlets100 ft of 14 AWG, no breaker publishedSkip this | Skip | 5.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — Storing your own holiday cords
Bayco K-100 cord storage reel with stand, holds 150 ft of 16/3
Holds up to 150 ft of 16/3 cord, freestanding
7.3
/ 10
The pick for decoration storage. One reel, all the display cords, no tangle in November.
Published specifications
- Capacity
- Up to 150 ft of 16/3 extension cord
- Stand
- Freestanding
- Operation
- Manual wind
- Use
- Indoor and outdoor
Our scoring
- Capacity
- 10 / 10
- Stores existing cords
- 10 / 10
- Outlets
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- 150 ft of capacity holds three 50 ft holiday cords on one reel
- Stores the cords you already own rather than adding another
Watch out
- No outlets on the reel — it stores, it does not distribute
- 16/3 is the capacity rating; heavier 12 or 14 gauge cords take less
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07NPWVBT7), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — A heavy cord that stores itself
VEVOR retractable cord reel, 100 ft, 12 AWG SJTOW, 4 outlets
100 ft of 12 AWG SJTOW, breaker, 4 outlets
7.8
/ 10
The pick if you need a new long cord anyway. It is the best-specified cord on the page and it winds itself away.
Published specifications
- Cord
- 100 ft, 12 AWG, SJTOW
- Outlets
- 4, with dust cover
- Protection
- Overload circuit breaker
- Operation
- Retractable, manual rewind with lock
- Stand
- Metal, with handle
Our scoring
- Cord gauge
- 10 / 10
- Protection
- 10 / 10
- Stores existing cords
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 10 / 10
Good
- 12 AWG is heavy cord — it carries a display load over 100 ft with less voltage drop than thinner gauges
- SJTOW is outdoor-rated with an oil-resistant jacket, and a breaker is published
Watch out
- A retractable reel is a cord and a reel together — you cannot swap the cord
- Heavy
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CL6WP4QF), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — Storing a cord and powering from the reel
EP extension cord storage reel, 4 grounded outlets, hand crank
Takes 12/3, 14/3 and 16/3 cords; 4 outlets on the reel
7.0
/ 10
The hub pick. Wind your own heavy cord on it and run four display circuits from the end.
Published specifications
- Takes
- 12/3, 14/3 and 16/3 cords
- Outlets
- 4 grounded
- Operation
- Hand crank
- Type
- Open reel
- Capacity
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Outlets
- 10 / 10
- Cord gauge range
- 10 / 10
- Published capacity
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Four outlets on the reel turn your own cord into a power hub at the display
- Published for heavy 12/3 cords as well as 16/3
Watch out
- No published capacity in feet
- Outlets on the reel should be kept off wet ground
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08RS3TF1K), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — Fast winding
Bayco KW-110 cord reel, center spin handle, 100 ft of 16/3
Center spin handle, 100 ft of 16/3, thermoplastic
8.8
/ 10
The quick-wind pick for a single long cord.
Published specifications
- Capacity
- 16/3 extension cords up to 100 ft
- Handle
- Center spin, swivel handle, hand slide
- Stand
- Built-in
- Material
- Shatter- and temperature-resistant thermoplastic
Our scoring
- Winding speed
- 10 / 10
- Material
- 9 / 10
- Capacity
- 7 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 9 / 10
Good
- A center spin handle winds faster than a side crank
- Temperature-resistant thermoplastic, published — it lives in a cold garage
Watch out
- 100 ft capacity, two-thirds of the K-100
- No outlets
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B000GAS3K8), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
CRAFTSMAN retractable cord reel, 100 ft, 14 AWG, 4 outlets
100 ft of 14 AWG, no breaker published
5.5
/ 10
Our skip, on the spec rather than the brand. At the same length the VEVOR publishes the heavier cord and a breaker.
Published specifications
- Cord
- 100 ft, 14 AWG, SJTW
- Outlets
- 4
- Protection
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Cord gauge
- 6 / 10
- Protection
- 1 / 10
- Brand
- 9 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 6 / 10
Good
- A known tool brand, and outdoor-rated SJTW cord
Watch out
- 14 AWG over 100 ft is the thinner gauge for the same run as the VEVOR's 12 AWG
- No overload protection published
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B09BGBQVSH), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
What the reel does for a holiday cord kit first — capacity for your own cords, or a heavy cord built in — then gauge, outlets and protection.
| Reel | Type | Capacity / cord | Outlets | Protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bayco K-100 | Storage | 150 ft of 16/3 | None | — |
| VEVOR | Retractable | 100 ft, 12 AWG SJTOW | 4 | Circuit breaker |
| EP reel | Storage with outlets | 12/3 to 16/3, length not stated | 4 | Not stated |
| Bayco KW-110 | Storage | 100 ft of 16/3 | None | — |
| CRAFTSMAN | Retractable | 100 ft, 14 AWG SJTW | 4 | Not stated |
Storage reels hold cords you own; retractable reels include their own cord. Capacity ratings are for 16/3 cord — heavier cord takes less.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
How many holiday cords a reel holds
The arithmetic
- Bayco K-100: 150 ft of 16/3 cord
- Three 50 ft cords = 150 ft — one reel
- Bayco KW-110: 100 ft = two 50 ft cords
The K-100 holds the three 50 ft cords a typical front-yard display uses. The ratings are for 16/3 cord; heavier 14 or 12 gauge cord is thicker and a reel holds less of it.
Gauge matters on a long run
The VEVOR puts 100 ft of 12 AWG cord on the reel. Heavier gauge carries more current over a long run with less voltage drop, which is why this site ranks cords by gauge; the table is on extension cords. SJTOW means an outdoor-rated cord with an oil-resistant jacket, and the VEVOR also publishes an overload breaker. Our skip, the CRAFTSMAN, is the same length in thinner 14 AWG with no protection published.
A reel as a power hub
The EP reel takes your own 12/3 to 16/3 cord and adds four grounded outlets on the reel, so one cord from the house feeds four display circuits at the far end. Keep those outlets off wet ground and plug the house end into a GFCI outlet — see outdoor Christmas light safety.
Where the reel goes
The cords live with the lights. Store the reel beside the light storage reels, label it, and put it on a shelf rather than the floor — see shelving for decoration storage and labeling and inventory.
Questions
›How much cord does an extension cord reel hold?
The storage reels here hold 100 or 150 ft of 16/3 cord. Heavier 14 or 12 gauge cord is thicker, so the same reel holds less.
›Storage reel or retractable cord reel?
A storage reel if you already own good outdoor cords. A retractable reel if you need a new long cord anyway — it comes with one.
›Is it safe to use an extension cord while it is on the reel?
For light loads, briefly. For a display running all evening, unwind it fully — a coiled cord under load can overheat.
›What gauge cord for a holiday display?
Heavier gauge for longer runs and bigger loads. One reel here uses 100 ft of 12 AWG; the full gauge table is on the extension cords page.
Sources
- Bayco K-100 cord storage reel listing (ASIN B07NPWVBT7) — Holds up to 150 ft of 16/3 cord, freestanding stand, manual wind
- VEVOR retractable cord reel listing (ASIN B0CL6WP4QF) — 100 ft, 12 AWG SJTOW, 4 outlets with dust cover, overload circuit breaker, metal stand
- EP extension cord storage reel listing (ASIN B08RS3TF1K) — Open reel for 12/3, 14/3 and 16/3 cords, 4 grounded outlets, hand crank
- Bayco KW-110 cord reel listing (ASIN B000GAS3K8) — 16/3 cords up to 100 ft, center spin handle, built-in stand, thermoplastic
- CRAFTSMAN retractable cord reel listing (ASIN B09BGBQVSH) — 100 ft, 14 AWG SJTW, 4 outlets
- Capacity arithmetic — Published reel capacity against 50 ft holiday cords — our arithmetic
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.