The best Halloween garland, ranked on what the listing tells you about the lights
Nine feet of black garland is the backdrop a Halloween mantel hangs on. The lights, the timer and the length decide whether it is enough.
By Sawyer V. · Published

Black garland is what turned the Halloween mantel into its own tradition. A length of black pine lit in orange and purple, with a few spiders or skulls on it, is the indoor Halloween display that takes ten minutes and looks deliberate.
The garlands look alike in photographs. The listings differ on whether they tell you the LED count, the timer and the battery — and on length, which decides whether one is enough. Five below.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageBlack Norfolk pine Halloween garland, 9 ft, 50 LEDs, timer50 purple and orange LEDs over 9 ft, 6/18 timer | The best-documented Halloween garland | 7.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageBlack cedar pine Halloween garland, 9 ft, lit, timerDense, layered black PE needles, 6/18 timer | The fullest foliage | 6.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imagePre-lit Halloween garland, 9 ft, with spiders and webSpider and web decorations included | Finished out of the box | 6.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageBlack maple leaf Halloween garland, 3 pack, 18 ft, 78 LEDs18 ft total across 3 strands, 78 LEDs | Railings and long runs | 8.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imagePre-lit black cedar cypress Halloween garland, 9 ftLit, with no LED count, timer or power publishedSkip this | Skip | 3.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — The best-documented Halloween garland
Black Norfolk pine Halloween garland, 9 ft, 50 LEDs, timer
50 purple and orange LEDs over 9 ft, 6/18 timer
7.8
/ 10
The pick. It publishes everything, and a plain black garland takes whatever Halloween trim you already own.
Published specifications
- Length
- 9 ft
- LEDs
- 50, purple and orange
- LEDs per foot
- 5.6 (50 over 9 ft — our arithmetic)
- Modes
- 8
- Timer
- 6 hours on, 18 hours off
- Power
- 3 AA batteries
- Material
- PE, bendable branches
Our scoring
- Spec completeness
- 10 / 10
- Material
- 10 / 10
- Included trim
- 3 / 10
- Lighting
- 8 / 10
Good
- LED count, timer, modes and battery count all published — the whole spec of a lit garland
- PE Norfolk pine is the softest, most realistic garland material, and it bends to shape
Watch out
- Three AA cells over a month of evenings means at least one change
- No spiders or trim — decoration is up to you
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0GWZPMM87), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — The fullest foliage
Black cedar pine Halloween garland, 9 ft, lit, timer
Dense, layered black PE needles, 6/18 timer
6.8
/ 10
The fullness pick. Choose it over the Norfolk pine if the garland is the feature rather than the backdrop.
Published specifications
- Length
- 9 ft
- Foliage
- Dense layered black PE needles, cedar pine
- Timer
- 6 hours on, 18 hours off
- Modes
- 8
- Power
- 3 AA batteries
- LEDs
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Foliage density
- 10 / 10
- Season span
- 9 / 10
- Published LED count
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Dense, layered needles are what make black garland read as foliage rather than a black rope
- Works into November and, in black, into a gothic Christmas
Watch out
- No published LED count
- No trim included
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0GYZ2DHCB), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — Finished out of the box
Pre-lit Halloween garland, 9 ft, with spiders and web
Spider and web decorations included
6.8
/ 10
The pick for a mantel you want done in ten minutes.
Published specifications
- Length
- 9 ft
- Foliage
- Black cedar and cypress
- Trim
- Berries, spiders and spider web included
- Modes
- 8
- Timer
- 6 hours on, 18 hours off
Our scoring
- Included trim
- 10 / 10
- Timer
- 9 / 10
- Published LED count
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Spiders and web in the box, so the garland is finished the day it arrives
- Published timer and modes
Watch out
- No published LED count or battery spec
- The trim commits it to Halloween only
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0H2L9QR7C), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — Railings and long runs
Black maple leaf Halloween garland, 3 pack, 18 ft, 78 LEDs
18 ft total across 3 strands, 78 LEDs
8.0
/ 10
The length pick. For a railing or a banister, three matched strands beat one long one.
Published specifications
- Strands
- 3
- Total length
- 18 ft
- LEDs
- 78, orange and purple
- LEDs per foot
- 4.3 (78 over 18 ft — our arithmetic)
- Foliage
- Black maple leaves
- Timer
- Yes
Our scoring
- Length per purchase
- 10 / 10
- Matched strands
- 9 / 10
- Fullness
- 5 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- 18 ft in three pieces covers a porch railing or a staircase that one 9 ft garland does not
- Three strands means three shorter battery-box runs
Watch out
- Maple leaves are thinner than pine — it reads as a vine rather than a garland
- Three battery boxes to hide and change
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0GWGQC6GL), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
Pre-lit black cedar cypress Halloween garland, 9 ft
Lit, with no LED count, timer or power published
3.3
/ 10
Our skip. The lighting is the reason to buy a pre-lit garland, and this listing does not describe it.
Published specifications
- Length
- 9 ft
- Foliage
- Black cedar, cypress and pine
- Lights
- Pre-lit, count not stated
- Timer
- Not stated in the listing
- Power
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Foliage texture
- 8 / 10
- Published lighting
- 1 / 10
- Timer
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 3 / 10
Good
- Mixed cedar, cypress and pine gives more texture than a single needle type
Watch out
- No LED count, no timer and no power source published on a lit garland
- Every other 9 ft garland here publishes its timer
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0GYYPNC8F), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Spec completeness first, because a lit garland you cannot size or power is a guess. Then foliage, then trim, then length per purchase.
| Garland | Length | LEDs | Timer | Power | Trim |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Norfolk pine | 9 ft | 50 | 6 on / 18 off | 3 AA | None |
| Black cedar | 9 ft | Not stated | 6 on / 18 off | 3 AA | None |
| Spider garland | 9 ft | Not stated | 6 on / 18 off | Not stated | Spiders, web, berries |
| Maple, 3 pack | 3 x 6 ft = 18 ft | 78 | Yes | Battery | None |
| Cedar cypress | 9 ft | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | None |
Two listings publish an LED count. Four publish a timer. Our skip publishes neither.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Is 9 feet enough?
This site’s swag convention is 1.33 times the straight length — the extra that goes into the dips.
The arithmetic
- 9 ft straight: covers 9 ft of mantel or shelf
- 9 ft swagged: 9 / 1.33 = 6.8 ft of mantel
- A 5 ft mantel swagged needs 5 x 1.33 = 6.65 ft — one garland covers it
- Maple 3 pack, 18 ft: 18 / 1.33 = 13.5 ft of railing swagged
One 9 ft garland covers a standard 5 ft mantel swagged, with a little to trail. A porch railing or banister is the job for the 18 ft three-pack.
The same arithmetic for fall and Christmas garland is on the best fall garland and how much garland do I need.
Lights per foot
The Norfolk pine publishes 50 LEDs over 9 ft, 5.6 per foot; the maple three-pack 78 over 18 ft, 4.3 per foot. Both are glow rather than sparkle, which suits a Halloween mantel. For more, wind a black-wire Halloween string through the garland.
Pine, cedar or maple
PE Norfolk pine is the softest and most realistic, and it bends to shape. The black cedar is the densest, which is what stops black garland reading as a black rope. Maple leaves are thinner and read as a vine — right for a railing, light for a mantel.
Trimmed or plain
The spider garland comes with spiders, web and berries: finished the day it arrives, and Halloween-only. A plain black garland takes whatever trim you already own, and in black it works into November and into a gothic Christmas. Buy trimmed for convenience, plain for range.
The rest of the mantel
The garland is the backdrop; the mantel layout is on mantel decorating, and the door that goes with it on the best Halloween wreaths. Store the garland coiled, not folded — see garland and greenery storage.
Questions
›How long is Halloween garland?
Most here are 9 ft. Swagged, 9 ft covers about 6.8 ft of mantel, enough for a standard 5 ft mantel. One three-pack gives 18 ft for railings.
›How many lights are on a Halloween garland?
One 9 ft garland here publishes 50 LEDs, about 5.6 per foot; a three-pack publishes 78 over 18 ft. Most listings do not publish a count at all.
›Can Halloween garland go outside?
Battery boxes and fabric are both better under cover. Use it on a covered porch rail or indoors on a mantel.
›Can black garland be used after Halloween?
A plain black garland, yes — it works for fall and for a gothic Christmas. Garland trimmed with spiders and webs is Halloween-only.
Sources
- Black Norfolk pine Halloween garland listing (ASIN B0GWZPMM87) — 9 ft, 50 purple and orange LEDs, 8 modes, 6/18 timer, 3 AA, PE
- Black cedar Halloween garland listing (ASIN B0GYZ2DHCB) — 9 ft, dense layered black PE needles, 6/18 timer, 3 AA, 8 modes
- Pre-lit spider Halloween garland listing (ASIN B0H2L9QR7C) — 9 ft, black cedar and cypress, berries, spiders and web, 8 modes, 6/18 timer
- Black maple leaf Halloween garland 3 pack listing (ASIN B0GWGQC6GL) — 3 strands, 18 ft total, 78 orange and purple LEDs, timer
- Pre-lit cedar cypress Halloween garland listing (ASIN B0GYYPNC8F) — 9 ft, black cedar, cypress and pine, pre-lit
- Swag arithmetic — 1.33 x straight length is this site's stated garland convention
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.