The best Halloween lanterns, freestanding on the step and the mantel
A lantern on each step is the quietest Halloween light there is, and the one trick-or-treaters walk right past. Where it stands, whether it can get wet and who switches it off decide which one.
By Sawyer V. · Published

Most Halloween lighting is loud: projectors, inflatables, string lights on the eaves. A lantern is the quiet layer. It sits on the step beside the pumpkins, lights the way up to the door, and makes a porch look lived in rather than wired. It is also the piece a trick-or-treater passes within arm’s reach, which is why a real flame has no place in one.
Every lantern below carries its own LED light, and all but one stand on their own. What separates them is size, whether they can take the rain, and whether they switch themselves off. Five below, one to skip.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The porch step, freestanding | 6.5/ 10 | ||
| 2 | An open porch, in the weather | 8.3/ 10 | $40.99Amazon #ad · Price as of September 21, 2026 · Disclosure | |
| 3 | A row up the steps or along a mantel | 5.3/ 10 | $15.99Amazon #ad · Price as of September 21, 2026 · Disclosure | |
| 4 | A haunted-house centerpiece | 6.0/ 10 | $19.99Amazon #ad · Price as of September 21, 2026 · Disclosure | |
| 5 | Skip | 6.3/ 10 |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full

#1 — The porch step, freestanding
DECORKEY haunted house candle lantern, 15 in, 78 in LED string, 8 modes
15 in metal and glass, 78 in battery LED string, 8 modes
6.5
/ 10
The pick. A tall metal lantern made to stand on the step, with its light built in.
Published specifications
- Height
- 15 in
- Build
- Metal, antique powder coat, hand-painted accents, glass panels
- Light
- 78 in battery-powered LED string, 8 modes, purple glow
- Candle
- Holds a candle up to 5 in across (not included)
- Sold for
- Porch steps, mantels, windows; outdoors under a covered area
- Timer
- Not stated in the listing
- Battery type
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Porch presence
- 10 / 10
- Weather
- 6 / 10
- Timer
- 3 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Sold for porch steps as well as mantels and windows — the freestanding lantern this page is about
- At 15 in, the tallest lantern here, so it holds its own beside a door
- Metal and glass with scrollwork cutouts, and the light is already inside
Watch out
- Outdoors under cover only; it is not sold as waterproof
- No timer and no battery type named, so plan on switching it on and off yourself
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0C6JS26J2), verified via the Creators API 2026-09-21.

#2 — An open porch, in the weather
VIHOSE Halloween flame LED lanterns, 2 pack, purple and orange, waterproof, remote timer
Waterproof, flickering flame, remote with timer, 2 pack
8.3
/ 10
Best for an uncovered step: the waterproof pair with a timer.
Published specifications
- Lanterns
- 2, one purple and one orange
- Build
- Plastic, with a carry handle
- Light
- Flickering flame effect
- Weather
- Waterproof
- Control
- Remote, up to 30 ft, with timer
- Power
- 3 AA per lantern per the listing detail (not included)
- Height
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Porch presence
- 7 / 10
- Weather
- 10 / 10
- Timer
- 10 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 6 / 10
Good
- The only lantern here sold as waterproof — the one that can sit in the rain
- Remote with a timer, so it switches itself off at the end of the night
- Purple and orange, the two Halloween colors, in one pack
Watch out
- Plastic rather than metal and glass
- The catalog title says rechargeable while the listing detail says 3 AA batteries; check which you receive
- Height not published
#ad · Price as of September 21, 2026 · How we are funded
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CBNY33B3), verified via the Creators API 2026-09-21.

#3 — A row up the steps or along a mantel
Halloween lanterns with LED candles, 6 pack, black, Halloween printed glass
6 lanterns, 7.87 x 3.54 in, flickering LED candle, 3 AAA each
5.3
/ 10
Best for a run: six small lanterns for the steps, the mantel or the party table.
Published specifications
- Lanterns
- 6, black
- Size
- About 7.87 in tall x 3.54 in wide
- Glass
- Halloween designs printed on the panels
- Light
- Built-in LED candle, flickering
- Power
- 3 AAA per lantern (not included)
- Display
- Stands on tables, mantels, shelves and entryways, or hangs from the top ring
- Outdoor use
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Porch presence
- 6 / 10
- Weather
- 4 / 10
- Timer
- 3 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- Six matching lanterns — enough to line three steps on both sides
- Stands on its own or hangs from the top ring
- Halloween designs printed on the glass, so they read as Halloween even unlit
Watch out
- Outdoor use not stated; keep them under a roof
- 18 AAA cells to fill the set
- At under 8 in, small beside a front door
#ad · Price as of September 21, 2026 · How we are funded
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0H5TJXSRQ), verified via the Creators API 2026-09-21.

#4 — A haunted-house centerpiece
Crazy Bonez gothic skull lantern, 12 in, battery LED, black and silver bone
12 in skull lantern, LED on 2 AAA, on/off switch
6.0
/ 10
Best themed piece: a skull lantern for a mantel or a covered porch table.
Published specifications
- Height
- 12 in
- Design
- Gothic lantern with skulls, black and silver bone finish
- Light
- Battery-operated LED
- Power
- 2 AAA (not included), on/off switch
- Sold for
- Indoors, or outdoors under cover
- Timer
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Porch presence
- 8 / 10
- Weather
- 6 / 10
- Timer
- 2 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- The most Halloween-specific shape here — the lantern itself is the decoration
- Only 2 AAA cells to run
Watch out
- Outdoors under cover only
- A switch, not a timer, so someone has to turn it off
#ad · Price as of September 21, 2026 · How we are funded
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07STX538N), verified via the Creators API 2026-09-21.

#5 — skip this
Halloween skull solar lantern, color changing, waterproof, metal, hanging
Solar, color-changing LED, waterproof metal, sold to hang
6.3
/ 10
Skip it for the step. Fine on a shepherd's hook in the yard, wrong for a covered porch.
Published specifications
- Pieces
- 1
- Build
- Metal shade, antique black-bronze finish, skull with ghost, bat and web cutouts
- Light
- Color-changing LED
- Power
- Solar; charges by day
- Weather
- Waterproof
- Display
- Hangs from trees, shepherd hooks, pergolas and balconies
- Height
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Porch presence
- 5 / 10
- Weather
- 10 / 10
- Timer
- 5 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 5 / 10
Good
- Waterproof, with no batteries or cords
- The cutouts throw skull and bat shadows on nearby walls
Watch out
- Sold to hang, not to stand
- Solar has to see the sun; under a porch roof, where freestanding lanterns usually go, it will not charge
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0H725GKR5), verified via the Creators API 2026-09-21.
How we ranked these
Freestanding first, because the question this page answers is what stands on a porch step or a mantel. Then the weather rating, since a step is outside even under a roof. Then power and timer, then size. Every figure below is one the listing publishes.
| Lantern | Pieces | Height | Weather | Power | Timer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DECORKEY | 1 | 15 in | Covered outdoor | Battery LED string | Not stated |
| VIHOSE | 2 | Not stated | Waterproof | 3 AA each | Remote timer |
| Printed glass 6 pack | 6 | 7.87 in | Not stated | 3 AAA each | Not stated |
| Crazy Bonez | 1 | 12 in | Covered outdoor | 2 AAA | Switch only |
| Solar skull | 1 | Not stated | Waterproof | Solar | Dusk to dawn |
Covered outdoor means the listing sells it for outdoors under a roof. The solar skull is sold to hang, not to stand.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Why freestanding matters
Most Halloween lanterns on Amazon are sold as hanging lanterns, with a ring or a handle on top. That is fine on a shepherd’s hook in the yard, but a porch step, a mantel or a table needs a lantern that stands on its own base. The DECORKEY listing names porch steps, mantels and windows, and the printed glass lanterns are sold to stand on tables, mantels, shelves and entryways or to hang from their top ring. Those two are the clearest freestanding picks. The solar skull is sold to hang from trees, hooks and pergolas, and that is why it is the skip.
Big and small together
The arithmetic
- DECORKEY: 15 in
- Printed glass lantern: 7.87 in
- 15 / 7.87 = 1.9 — the DECORKEY is nearly twice as tall
- Standard front door: 80 in; 15 in = 19% of the door
One 15 in lantern beside the door and a pair of small ones a step below reads as a planned group; a row of identical small lanterns reads as a runway. Even the tallest lantern here is under a fifth of the door's height, so lanterns belong on the steps and the rail, not as the main event.
How many for the steps
The arithmetic
- Example porch: 3 steps (an assumption — count yours)
- One lantern at each end of each step: 3 x 2 = 6 lanterns
- Printed glass 6 pack: 6 lanterns = exactly one set
- Batteries: 6 lanterns x 3 AAA = 18 AAA
The 6 pack lines three steps on both sides, with 18 AAA cells to fill it. For a single statement instead, one DECORKEY at the top step beside the door does the same job with one light string.
Who switches it off
A lantern on the step is on for trick-or-treating and forgotten until morning. The VIHOSE remote has a timer, so the pair switches itself off; its remote works from up to 30 ft. The Crazy Bonez has an on/off switch, and the other listings do not name a timer. For a lantern without one, the answer is a routine: on when the porch light goes on, off when the candy bowl comes in. The porch light itself can run on a timer, or on the colored bulbs in Halloween porch light bulbs.
The arithmetic
- October evenings: 31 nights
- Lit from 6 pm to 11 pm: 5 hours a night (an assumption)
- 31 x 5 = 155 hours per lantern
About 155 hours per lantern across October. No listing here publishes battery life, so plan on rechargeable cells and a mid-month change, and watch for the lantern that dims before its neighbors.
No real candles
The DECORKEY’s lantern holds a candle up to 5 in across, and it already carries its own LED string. If you want a candle in it too, make it a flameless one: a costume, a pile of dry leaves and an open flame on the same step is the one combination to avoid. The pillars on flameless candles come in 2.2 and 3 in diameters, both under the DECORKEY’s 5 in.
A note on the VIHOSE power
The VIHOSE catalog title calls the pair rechargeable, while the listing detail says each lantern takes 3 AA batteries, not included. We report both because the listing does, and we list it as a con: check the box before buying spare cells.
Why the solar skull is the skip
The solar skull lantern is waterproof, cordless and throws good shadows through its cutouts. But it is sold to hang, and solar has to see the sun to charge. Under a porch roof, which is exactly where a freestanding lantern goes, it will not get the daylight it needs. Hang it on a shepherd’s hook out in the yard instead, with the pathway lights.
The rest of the porch
Lanterns share the steps with pumpkins; the scale rules for both are on pumpkins and lanterns. The whole small-space plan is on small porch Halloween decorations, and the layers of light around it on Halloween display lighting.
Questions
›What is the best freestanding Halloween lantern?
The DECORKEY 15 in haunted house lantern. Its listing names porch steps, mantels and windows, and it carries a 78 in LED string with 8 modes. For a set, the printed glass 6 pack stands on tables and steps too.
›Can Halloween lanterns go outside?
Only the VIHOSE pair here is sold as waterproof. The DECORKEY and the Crazy Bonez are sold for outdoors under cover, and the printed glass lanterns do not state outdoor use.
›Do battery Halloween lanterns have timers?
The VIHOSE remote has a timer. The Crazy Bonez has an on/off switch, and the other listings here do not name a timer.
›Can I put a real candle in a Halloween lantern?
Not on a porch full of costumes. The DECORKEY holds a candle up to 5 in across; use a flameless pillar in it instead.
Sources
- DECORKEY haunted house lantern listing (ASIN B0C6JS26J2) — 15 in, metal with antique powder coat and glass panels, 78 in LED string with 8 modes, battery powered, holds a 5 in diameter candle (not included), porch steps, mantels and windows, outdoors under a covered area
- VIHOSE Halloween flame lanterns listing (ASIN B0CBNY33B3) — 2 pack, purple and orange, plastic, flickering flame, waterproof, remote up to 30 ft with timer, 3 AA each (not included); catalog title says rechargeable
- Printed glass Halloween lanterns listing (ASIN B0H5TJXSRQ) — 6 black lanterns, Halloween designs printed on the glass, LED candle, about 7.87 in tall x 3.54 in wide, 3 AAA each (not included), stands or hangs from the top ring
- Crazy Bonez gothic lantern listing (ASIN B07STX538N) — 12 in skull lantern, black and silver bone finish, battery LED on 2 AAA (not included), on/off switch, indoors or outdoors under cover
- Solar skull lantern listing (ASIN B0H725GKR5) — Color-changing solar lantern, waterproof metal shade, antique black-bronze, skull with ghost, bat and web cutouts, hangs from trees, hooks and pergolas
- Scale, step and run-time arithmetic — Heights against an 80 in door; step count and evening hours are stated assumptions — our arithmetic
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.