The best C7 Christmas lights, for a roofline that reads from the street
C7 is the classic roofline bulb — bigger than a mini light, smaller than a C9. Spacing, watts per bulb and how far you can run them decide which string.
By Sawyer V. · Published

The C7 is the bulb most people picture on a roofline: about the size of a fingertip, on green wire, one every foot. It is smaller than the C9 on our C9 page, which suits a single-story eave, a porch rail or a window frame, where a C9 can look oversized.
The good listings publish exactly what you need to plan a roofline: spacing, watts per bulb and how many strings run end to end. We ranked on that. Five below, one to skip.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageWintergreen Lighting C7 OptiCore LED, 25 bulbs, 25 ft, cool white, green wire25 C7 OptiCore bulbs, 12 in spacing, 0.8 W each, IP67, 480 W run limit | A commercial-grade C7 roofline | 9.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageC7 LED strawberry bulb Christmas lights, 25 ft, 25 replaceable bulbs, dimmable, warm white25 replaceable strawberry C7 LEDs, dimmable, rectified, waterproof | A dimmable faceted bulb | 7.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageUzexon outdoor LED strawberry string lights, 25 C7 bulbs, commercial grade, warm white25 C7 strawberry LEDs, commercial grade, warm white | A string that works all year | 6.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageC7 LED vintage Christmas lights, 25 ft, 25 shatterproof multicolor strawberry bulbs25 ft, 25 shatterproof multicolor LEDs, 11.6 in spacing, end connector | Multicolor, shatterproof | 7.3/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageBrightown C7 Christmas lights, 25 ft, warm white, 25 clear bulbs, green wire25 ft, 25 clear C7 bulbs plus 2 spares, E12 base, green wireSkip this | Skip | 5.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — A commercial-grade C7 roofline
Wintergreen Lighting C7 OptiCore LED, 25 bulbs, 25 ft, cool white, green wire
25 C7 OptiCore bulbs, 12 in spacing, 0.8 W each, IP67, 480 W run limit
9.8
/ 10
The pick. The most completely specified C7 string here, from a commercial lighting brand.
Published specifications
- Bulbs
- 25 C7 OptiCore LEDs, cool white, steady
- Length
- 25 ft, sockets 12 in apart
- Wire
- 18-gauge green, 6 in lead with fused polarized plug
- Power
- 0.8 W per bulb
- Run limit
- Up to 500 ft or 480 W end to end
- Rating
- IP67
- Rated life
- Up to 60,000 hours
- Dimmable
- Yes, with a dimmer sold separately
Our scoring
- Build
- 10 / 10
- Run length
- 10 / 10
- Light quality
- 9 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 10 / 10
Good
- Every number published: spacing, watts, run limit, rating and life
- Polycarbonate lenses, sold as 200 times stronger than glass
- Also sold in warm white, multicolor, gold and amber
Watch out
- Cool white in this listing; warm white is a separate listing
- Dimmer sold separately
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B076HXKGGZ), verified 2026-09-11.
#2 — A dimmable faceted bulb
C7 LED strawberry bulb Christmas lights, 25 ft, 25 replaceable bulbs, dimmable, warm white
25 replaceable strawberry C7 LEDs, dimmable, rectified, waterproof
7.3
/ 10
Best faceted bulb: the strawberry sparkle, dimmable, on a commercial-style string.
Published specifications
- Length
- 25 ft
- Bulbs
- 25 replaceable C7 strawberry (faceted), warm white
- Driver
- Rectified
- Dimmable
- Yes
- Weather
- Waterproof
- Wattage
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Build
- 8 / 10
- Run length
- 6 / 10
- Light quality
- 9 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 6 / 10
Good
- Rectified — the term commercial listings use for steady light without visible flicker
- Dimmable, waterproof, with replaceable bulbs
Watch out
- Brand not stated
- Wattage not in the listing title
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B08CZRMT2H), verified 2026-09-11.
#3 — A string that works all year
Uzexon outdoor LED strawberry string lights, 25 C7 bulbs, commercial grade, warm white
25 C7 strawberry LEDs, commercial grade, warm white
6.5
/ 10
Best all-year C7: warm white strawberries that move from the roofline to the patio.
Published specifications
- Bulbs
- 25 C7 strawberry LEDs, warm white
- Grade
- Commercial
- Sold for
- Christmas, weddings, parties, garden and patio
- Length
- Not stated in the listing
- Wattage
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Build
- 8 / 10
- Run length
- 5 / 10
- Light quality
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 5 / 10
Good
- Sold for the patio and parties as well as Christmas
- Commercial grade, per the listing
Watch out
- String length not in the listing title
- Wattage not published
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B073QLG6PW), verified 2026-09-11.
#4 — Multicolor, shatterproof
C7 LED vintage Christmas lights, 25 ft, 25 shatterproof multicolor strawberry bulbs
25 ft, 25 shatterproof multicolor LEDs, 11.6 in spacing, end connector
7.3
/ 10
Best multicolor: shatterproof vintage strawberries for a colorful roofline.
Published specifications
- Length
- 25 ft
- Bulbs
- 25 shatterproof LED, multicolor strawberry
- Spacing
- 11.6 in
- Connector
- 6 in lead with a female end connector
- Weather
- Waterproof
- Wattage
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Build
- 8 / 10
- Run length
- 6 / 10
- Light quality
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 7 / 10
Good
- Shatterproof bulbs — the safe choice where strings get handled or dropped
- Female end connector for linking runs
Watch out
- Multicolor only in this listing
- Wattage and run limit not published
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0FLNZD9JY), verified 2026-09-11.
#5 — skip this
Brightown C7 Christmas lights, 25 ft, warm white, 25 clear bulbs, green wire
25 ft, 25 clear C7 bulbs plus 2 spares, E12 base, green wire
5.8
/ 10
Skip until the listing says LED. Every other string here does, and on a roofline circuit the bulb type decides how many strings you can run.
Published specifications
- Length
- 25 ft
- Bulbs
- 25 clear, warm white, plus 2 spares
- Base
- E12
- Wire
- Green
- Bulb technology
- Not stated in the listing
- Wattage
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Build
- 7 / 10
- Run length
- 4 / 10
- Light quality
- 8 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 4 / 10
Good
- Clear warm white bulbs — the classic C7 look
- Two spare bulbs
Watch out
- LED or incandescent is not stated in the listing title
- Wattage not published, so a circuit cannot be planned from the listing
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07W726K3W), verified 2026-09-11.
How we ranked these
Spec first, because on a roofline the watts and the run limit decide how many strings go on one outlet. Then build — wire and lens — then light quality and color.
| String | Bulbs | Length and spacing | Watts | Run limit | Style |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wintergreen | 25 LED | 25 ft, 12 in | 0.8 W each | 500 ft or 480 W | OptiCore, cool white |
| Strawberry, dimmable | 25 LED | 25 ft | Not stated | Not stated | Strawberry, warm white |
| Uzexon | 25 LED | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Strawberry, warm white |
| Multicolor | 25 LED | 25 ft, 11.6 in | Not stated | Not stated | Strawberry, multicolor |
| Brightown | 25 + 2 spares | 25 ft | Not stated | Not stated | Clear, warm white |
Only Wintergreen publishes watts and a run limit. OptiCore is Wintergreen's name for its lens. Brightown does not say whether its bulbs are LED.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
How far a C7 run goes
The arithmetic
- Wintergreen: 25 bulbs x 0.8 W = 20 W per 25 ft string
- Run limit: 500 ft or 480 W, whichever comes first
- 500 ft / 25 ft = 20 strings; 20 x 20 W = 400 W
- 400 W / 120 V = 3.3 A
The 500 ft limit comes before the 480 W one: 20 strings end to end, 400 W, about 3.3 A. That is a whole roofline on one plug, well under the 12 A continuous limit of a 15 A circuit.
The circuit rules behind that are on how many amps your lights draw.
How many strings a roofline takes
The arithmetic
- Example: a single-story house with 60 ft of front eave (an assumption — measure yours)
- 60 / 25 = 2.4, so 3 strings
- 3 x 25 ft = 75 ft: 15 ft spare for the drop to the outlet
Three 25 ft strings cover a 60 ft eave with enough left to reach down to the outlet. Measure the eave, add the run to the outlet, and round up to whole strings.
The same method for every kind of light is on how many lights you need.
C7 or C9
C7 and C9 are named for their bulb size, and the C9 is the bigger one. On a two-story house or a long roofline seen from across the street, the C9 reads better. On a single-story eave, a porch or the frame of a window or door, seen from closer, the C7 is in scale. Every bulb type is compared on bulb types explained.
Smooth, faceted or shatterproof
The Wintergreen OptiCore bulb has a smooth polycarbonate lens, sold as 200 times stronger than glass. The strawberry bulbs on the other strings are faceted, which throws more sparkle. The dimmable strawberry string is rectified, the term commercial listings use for steady light without visible flicker. The multicolor string is sold as shatterproof, the choice where strings get handled or dropped, and the Uzexon is sold for the patio as well as Christmas.
Hanging C7s
C7s hang from gutter and shingle clips, one clip per socket at 12 in spacing; the clips are on light clips. Stakes for running C7s along a path are on Christmas light stakes.
Questions
›How many C7 light strings can you connect?
Only as many as the listing allows. Wintergreen’s C7 OptiCore publishes a limit of 500 ft or 480 W; at 20 W per 25 ft string, that is 20 strings. The other listings here do not publish a limit.
›What is the difference between C7 and C9 lights?
Size. C9 bulbs are larger and read better on a two-story roofline; C7s are in scale on a single-story eave, a porch or a window frame.
›How far apart are C7 bulbs?
About a foot. Wintergreen’s sockets are 12 in apart; the multicolor string’s are 11.6 in.
›Are C7 lights dimmable?
Some are. The Wintergreen string is dimmable with a separate dimmer, and the strawberry string here is sold as dimmable.
Sources
- Wintergreen Lighting C7 OptiCore listing (ASIN B076HXKGGZ; warm white ASIN B076HVR7DP) — 25 C7 bulbs, 25 ft, sockets 12 in apart, 18-gauge green wire, fused polarized plug, 0.8 W per bulb, up to 500 ft or 480 W end to end, IP67, up to 60,000 h, polycarbonate lens, dimmable with a separate dimmer
- Dimmable strawberry C7 listing (ASIN B08CZRMT2H) — 25 ft, 25 replaceable strawberry C7 bulbs, dimmable, rectified, waterproof, warm white
- Uzexon strawberry C7 listing (ASIN B073QLG6PW) — 25 C7 strawberry LEDs, commercial grade, warm white
- Multicolor shatterproof C7 listing (ASIN B0FLNZD9JY) — 25 ft, 25 shatterproof LED bulbs, multicolor strawberry, 11.6 in spacing, 6 in lead with female connector, waterproof
- Brightown C7 listing (ASIN B07W726K3W) — 25 ft, warm white, green wire, 25 clear bulbs plus 2 spares, E12 base; LED not stated
- Run and roofline arithmetic — Watts x bulbs; the 80% continuous rule on a 15 A circuit; eave length is a stated assumption — our arithmetic
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.