The best Christmas door swags, ranked on length and published foliage
A swag is a wreath that admits it is hanging. Get the length right against your door leaf and it beats a wreath on a narrow entry every time.
By Sawyer V. · Published

A swag is the vertical answer to a horizontal problem. On a narrow door, a glass panel, a sidelight or a shuttered window, a round wreath either does not fit or looks like it is apologizing for its own diameter — and a swag drops down the face instead of spreading across it.
It is also the one greenery format where almost nobody publishes a tip count, so the numbers you can compare are length, lighting and what comes attached. Five below, ranked on exactly those.
Wreath & Watt earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page. It costs you nothing and it does not change the order of the picks — here is exactly how we are funded.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No imageHaute Decor pre-lit fir swag, 3 ft, 30 LED36 in of swag with 30 LEDs and a timer | The only weatherproof lit swag here | 9.5/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | No imageAdmired By Nature 23 in swag, 52 tips, set of 252 tips over 23 in — 27 tips per foot | The only published tip count | 7.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | No imageLiliful pre-lit teardrop swags, 24 in, 2 pack30 LED fairy lights on each of two 24 in swags | A lit pair for double doors | 7.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | No imageBalsam Hill Outdoor Pine Peak swag, 30 in30 in, trimmed with berries and metallic ornaments | Pre-trimmed, no styling needed | 6.8/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | No imageTeardrop pine swag, 30 in, 2 pack30 in with nothing else publishedSkip this | Skip | 3.0/ 10 | Check price #ad · Disclosure |
Scores are our own weighting of published manufacturer specifications, explained in full on how we research. They are not test results. We have not tested these products.
The picks in full
#1 — The only weatherproof lit swag here
Haute Decor pre-lit fir swag, 3 ft, 30 LED
36 in of swag with 30 LEDs and a timer
9.5
/ 10
The pick for an exterior door. Lit, timed, weatherproof and it hangs itself — no other swag here does all four.
Published specifications
- Length
- 3 ft (36 in)
- Lights
- 30 warm white LED
- LEDs per foot
- 10 (30 over 3 ft — our arithmetic)
- Power
- Battery operated
- Timer
- Automatic, 6 hours on / 18 hours off
- Use
- Indoor and outdoor
- Greenery
- Weatherproof pine, red berries, real pinecones
- Fixing
- Hanging sash included
Our scoring
- Outdoor suitability
- 10 / 10
- Lighting and control
- 8 / 10
- Ready to hang
- 10 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 10 / 10
Good
- Published as weatherproof and outdoor-rated, which most lit swags carefully avoid saying
- An included hanging sash and an automatic timer mean nothing else to buy and nothing to switch
Watch out
- 30 LEDs across 36 in is modest — it defines the shape after dark rather than lighting the door
- Battery power on an exterior door means changing cells in December weather
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B07Z9M1X68), verified 2026-09-10.
#2 — The only published tip count
Admired By Nature 23 in swag, 52 tips, set of 2
52 tips over 23 in — 27 tips per foot
7.0
/ 10
The density pick, and the only swag on this page you can actually compare on foliage. Buy it for a pair of doors, and light it yourself.
Published specifications
- Length
- 23 in
- Branch tips
- 52
- Tips per foot
- 27 (52 over 1.92 ft — our arithmetic)
- Greenery
- Canadian mixed pine
- Quantity
- Set of 2
- Use
- Indoor and outdoor
- Lights
- None
Our scoring
- Published tip count
- 10 / 10
- Value as a pair
- 9 / 10
- After-dark presence
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- A published tip count is the density figure this site ranks every piece of greenery on, and no other swag listing prints one
- A set of two matches double doors or a door and a window without buying twice
Watch out
- Unlit, so it does nothing after dark on a December door
- 23 in is the shortest here — on a 36 in door leaf it reads as small
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CL81F616), verified 2026-09-10.
#3 — A lit pair for double doors
Liliful pre-lit teardrop swags, 24 in, 2 pack
30 LED fairy lights on each of two 24 in swags
7.8
/ 10
The interior pick. On a stair rail, a mirror or a pair of internal doors it is the best-lit thing on this page.
Published specifications
- Length
- 24 in
- Quantity
- 2
- Lights
- 30 warm white LED fairy lights per swag
- LEDs per foot
- 15 (30 over 2 ft — our arithmetic)
- Power
- AA batteries
- Trim
- Pine cones, berries, baubles, holly
- Timer
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Lighting density
- 10 / 10
- Value as a pair
- 9 / 10
- Outdoor durability
- 4 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 8 / 10
Good
- 15 LEDs per foot is the densest lighting of the swags here, on the shortest lit body
- Two lit swags for the price most brands charge for one
Watch out
- No published timer, so these are a switch you have to remember twice a day
- Fairy-light wire on a 24 in swag is fine indoors and fragile on an exposed exterior door
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0CC1K4TBK), verified 2026-09-10.
#4 — Pre-trimmed, no styling needed
Balsam Hill Outdoor Pine Peak swag, 30 in
30 in, trimmed with berries and metallic ornaments
6.8
/ 10
Buy it if you want it finished rather than comparable. It is the best-proportioned swag here and the hardest to rank.
Published specifications
- Length
- 30 in
- Lights
- Battery-operated LED, clear
- LED count
- Not stated in the listing
- Trim
- Red berries, metallic ornaments
- Use
- Outdoor
- Branch tips
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Proportion to a standard door
- 10 / 10
- Finished out of the box
- 10 / 10
- Published specs
- 3 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 4 / 10
Good
- Comes trimmed, so it looks finished the moment it is out of the box — no ribbon or ornament work
- 30 in is the right proportion for a standard 36 in door leaf
Watch out
- Neither an LED count nor a tip count is published, so it cannot be compared on either axis
- Pre-trimmed also means fixed — the metallic ornaments dictate your palette
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B076CJKQC2), verified 2026-09-10.
#5 — skip this
Teardrop pine swag, 30 in, 2 pack
30 in with nothing else published
3.0
/ 10
Our skip, on documentation. Two 30 in swags is a reasonable thing to want; nothing in this listing distinguishes these from any other two.
Published specifications
- Length
- 30 in
- Quantity
- 2
- Greenery
- Faux pine needles
- Branch tips
- Not stated in the listing
- Lights
- None
- Trim
- Not stated in the listing
Our scoring
- Published length
- 8 / 10
- Published tip count
- 1 / 10
- After-dark presence
- 1 / 10
- Spec completeness
- 2 / 10
Good
- A pair at 30 in is the correct length for a standard door, twice over
Watch out
- Length is the only figure published — no tip count, no trim, no lighting
- Every other swag on this page publishes at least one more comparable number
Specs from the Amazon listing (ASIN B0DJLX791H), verified 2026-09-10.
How we ranked these
Published length first, because proportion to the door is the decision. Then published foliage density where it exists, then lighting and control, then whether it is genuinely rated for outdoor use.
| Swag | Length | Tips | Lights | LEDs per foot | Outdoor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haute Decor | 36 in | Not stated | 30 LED, timer | 10 | Published |
| Admired By Nature | 23 in | 52 | None | — | Published |
| Liliful, 2 pack | 24 in | Not stated | 30 LED each | 15 | Not stated |
| Balsam Hill | 30 in | Not stated | LED, count not stated | — | Published |
| Teardrop, 2 pack | 30 in | Not stated | None | — | Not stated |
One listing in five publishes a branch tip count. LEDs per foot is our arithmetic from the published LED count and length.
Source: Manufacturer listings on Amazon.com, verified September 2026.
Length against the door leaf
This site’s wreath convention is two-thirds of the door width. A swag is measured the other way — against the door’s height — and the working proportion is shorter than people expect, because a swag hangs from the upper third rather than the center.
The arithmetic
- Standard door leaf: 36 in wide, 80 in tall
- Two-thirds wreath rule: 36 x 0.67 = 24 in wreath
- A 30 in swag on a 36 in leaf = 83% of the door width in length
- A 23 in swag on the same leaf = 64%
Between about 24 and 30 inches is the range that reads correctly on a standard door. Under 24 in the swag looks lost; much over 36 in and it starts to fight the door hardware.
On a double door or a narrow sidelight the arithmetic changes and a pair of shorter swags usually beats one long one, which is what makes the two-packs here worth their price. The wreath comparison is on the wreath size guide.
The one published tip count, and why it matters
The Admired By Nature swag publishes 52 tips over 23 inches, which works out at 27 tips per foot. That is the only foliage density figure anywhere in this category, and it is the number every wreath and tree page on this site ranks on.
It is not directly comparable to a wreath figure — a swag is a one-sided arrangement and a wreath is a ring — but within this table it is the only defensible density claim. Everywhere else you are judging fullness from a photograph, which is exactly what this site exists to avoid. The tip-count argument is on the best artificial wreaths.
Lit swags, and 30 LEDs across three feet
Two swags here publish an LED count and both publish thirty. Across the Haute Decor’s 36 inches that is 10 LEDs per foot; across the shorter Liliful body it is 15.
Neither is bright and neither is meant to be. A lit swag defines its own outline after dark rather than illuminating the door, and 30 warm LEDs is enough for that on a door which already has a porch light. If the door is unlit, the swag is not the fix — front porch Christmas decor covers what is.
Weatherproof, or just sold for outdoors
Three of these five publish outdoor use. Only the Haute Decor swag describes its greenery itself as weatherproof, which is a different claim from a listing that simply lists outdoor among its suggested uses.
The distinction matters on artificial greenery specifically, because what fails outdoors is not the structure but the color — UV takes the green out of untreated PVC needles in two or three seasons. That is the same argument as fall decor weather durability, applied to December.
Trimmed, untrimmed, and a bow
The pre-trimmed swags arrive finished and decide your palette. The plain ones arrive as greenery and let you decide it, and a single wide wired ribbon at the top of a plain swag is the cheapest upgrade in the whole category.
For a swag the bow goes at the top and the tails run down the length, which is the opposite of the wreath convention. The bow method is on how to make a wreath bow and the ribbon widths are on Christmas ribbon and bows.
A swag is not only a door piece
Three places a swag beats a wreath outright: a narrow sidelight where a wreath will not fit, a stair post where a ring has nowhere to sit, and either end of a mantel where a horizontal garland needs terminating.
Used that way a two-pack goes further than it looks. The mantel treatment is on mantel decorating, and the banister on staircase decorating.
Hanging it, and putting it away
A swag hangs from a single point, which makes it easier than a wreath on hardware and harder on wind — it pivots. Use the same over-the-door hangers as a wreath, and add a second discreet fixing at the lower third if the door is exposed.
Storage is the wreath problem exactly: crushing is what kills artificial greenery, not age. Hang it or box it rather than stacking anything on it — wreath care and storage and wreath storage containers both apply unchanged.
Questions
›What size Christmas swag do I need for my front door?
Between about 24 and 30 inches on a standard 36 by 80 in door leaf. Under 24 in it reads as under-scaled; much over 36 in and it starts to interfere with the handle and the letterbox. On double doors, a pair of shorter swags beats one long one.
›Is a swag better than a wreath on a front door?
On a narrow door, a glass panel or a sidelight, yes — a swag drops down the face rather than spreading across it. On a wide flat door with room for a 24 in ring, a wreath is the stronger shape.
›How many lights does a door swag need?
The lit swags here publish 30 LEDs each, which is 10 to 15 per foot depending on length. That is enough to outline the swag after dark on a door that already has a porch light, and not enough to light the door itself.
›Can Christmas swags be used outside?
Three of the five here publish outdoor use, and one describes its greenery as weatherproof, which is the stronger claim. What fails outdoors on artificial greenery is usually the color rather than the structure — UV fades untreated PVC needles over a few seasons.
Sources
- Haute Decor 3 ft pre-lit fir swag listing (ASIN B07Z9M1X68) — 3 ft, 30 warm white LED, battery, 6/18 automatic timer, weatherproof pine, red berries, real pinecones, hanging sash
- Admired By Nature 23 in swag listing (ASIN B0CL81F616) — 23 in, 52 tips, Canadian mixed pine, set of 2, indoor and outdoor
- Liliful 24 in pre-lit teardrop swags listing (ASIN B0CC1K4TBK) — 24 in, 2 pack, 30 warm white LED fairy lights each, AA batteries, pinecones, berries, holly
- Balsam Hill Outdoor Pine Peak swag listing (ASIN B076CJKQC2) — 30 in, battery-operated clear LED, red berries, metallic ornaments
- 30 in teardrop swag 2 pack listing (ASIN B0DJLX791H) — 30 in, 2 pieces, faux pine needles
- Proportion arithmetic — Our arithmetic against a standard 36 x 80 in door leaf and this site's two-thirds wreath convention
We have not tested these products. Every figure above comes from a published manufacturer specification or from arithmetic shown on this page, and anything a maker does not publish is printed as unavailable rather than estimated. How that works, and what we will not claim, is set out on how we research.